The following resources also contain links to further educational and curriculum resources relating to different aspects of First Nations Australians.
Histories, Heritage, and Cultures
Curriculum Resources - AIATSIS (Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies)
Along with the main Education page, AITSIS provide access to collection resources and further links to recommended educational resources applicable to the Australian Curriculum
Teacher & Student Resources - Creative Spirits
Includes links for infographics, books, movies, music, TV & radio, newspapers & magazines, newsletters, photography, and how best to teach using Aboriginal resources.
Educational resources about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures - ABC Education
Classroom resources about important Indigenous topics - ABC Education
These two pages are lists of recommended resources with associated links and descriptions. Many of the suggestions from these pages have been included separately in this information box.
Aboriginal Torres Strait Islander Histories and Cultures - ABC Education
This main page allows access to videos and articles for all subject areas, including English, Maths, Science, and HASS.
The Little Red Yellow Black Book Resources - AIATSIS
Resources for Years 7-10 in a variety of subject areas, including: Civics & Citizenship; Dance; Design & Technology; Digital Technologies; Drama; English; Geography; Health & Physical Education; History; Mathematics; Media Arts; Music; Science; and Visual Arts. Copies of The Little Red Yellow Black Book may be accessed from the Stephens Library Non-fiction or Teacher Reference collections.
Koorie Education Resources - VAEAI (Victorian Aboriginal Education Association)
Resources linked to the Victorian curriculum for a variety of First Nations topics; Koorie Perspectives in Curriculum Bulletins, Features, and Briefs, which aim highlight Victorian Koorie voices, stories, achievements, leadership and connections and with suggested activities and resources; and Koorie Education Calendar. The calendar is updated annually and is focused on key events as well as drawing attention to Koorie Victorian voices, stories and achievements, while featuring Koorie leaders, artists, authors, playwrites, etc.
Link directly to the Koorie Education Calendar for 2021, 2022, and 2023
Australia's Defining Moments Digital Classroom - National Museum of Australia
The Indigenous Australia section of the digital classroom focuses on significant moments in Australia's history, specific to the learning areas Civics & Citizenship, Geography, and History. Pages include research questions, and links to further information and expanded topics on the National Museum of Australia's website
Rights and Freedoms, Defining Moments, 1945 - present - National Museum of Australia
This learning module provides resources and classroom activities for use in the Year 10 Australian Curriculum: Humanities and Social Sciences learning area. Specifically it may be used to support the History, knowledge and understanding strand. It relies heavily on the National Museum of Australia's Defining Moments in Australian History with supplementary resources, including contextual information, documents, images, scaffolded comprehension, analytical and extension questions, and individual, group and class activities.
Teacher Notes: Dark Emu: Black Seeds: Agriculture or Accident, written by Bruce Pascoe - Magabala Books
These notes are designed to accompany use of Bruce Pascoe's book Dark Emu: Black Seeds: Agriculture or Accident which puts forward an argument for a reconsideration of the hunter-gatherer tag for pre-colonial Aboriginal Australians. It includes links to further resources, classroom ideas, and cultural notes.
Teacher Resources - Common Ground
Common Ground is a First Nations non-profit which works to amplify First Nations voices, create change in the education and legal systems with regard to First Nations knowledge, and strengthen cultures for future generations. The site focuses on the three major themes of People, Country, and Truth-telling; and also includes links to resources for the annual week of storytelling: First Nations Bedtime Stories.
Educational Resources - NAIDOC *updated*
These resources have been designed to address The Australian Curriculum: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Culture cross-curriculum priority. They may be used across a variety of learning areas and grades from Foundation to Year 12, with potential applicability for those studying Indigenous Studies at a VET or university level.
NAIDOC Week - SBS Learn *updated*
SBS Learn, provides teaching resources on First Nations perspectives in a variety of areas for Foundation - Year 10 students. Skip to the 2023 Teacher Resource.
NAIDOC Week - ABC Education *updated*
The official educational resource partner for NAIDOC Week 2023: For Our Elders, ABC Education provides a variety of educational resources, including short videos and additional links.
ABC Education - Highlighted Topics
Bruce Pascoe: Aboriginal Agriculture, Technology and Ingenuity
Learn about the vast agricultural fields, ingenious aquaculture systems, sophisticated use of fire and successful industries that existed in Australia prior to colonisation. [Geography, History, Science, Technologies]
Explore six Aboriginal seasonal calendars to see how the unique knowledge they contain helps the traditional owners hunt, fish and collect bush tucker at the best times. [Geography, Science]
Focuses on connection to Country and the interconnectedness between human beings and the landscape as a living entity. [Arts, Geography, History, Science]
Indigenous communities share the stories behind place names of their country. [Geography]
Deep Time History of Indigenous Australians
Defined by the development of cultural practices, innovative technologies and belief systems, the "deep time" history of Australia's First Nations peoples is illustrated by this collection from the Australian National Maritime Museum. [Geography, History, Technologies]
Aboriginal cultures: Sharing, connecting and practising
Digibook collection celebrating the resilience of Aboriginal Australian cultures, believed to be the oldest continuous living cultures on Earth. [Civics & Citizenship, History]
Twelve Dreamtime stories from Central Arnhem Land. [English, History]
This documentary, following 10-year-old Arrernte and Garrwa boy, Dujuan Hoosan, focuses on the complex issues surrounding First Nations communities in maintaining their cultural identities and practices amidst the historical legacies of colonisation. Additional resources may be accessed via the website, including senior secondary study guides from ATOM and Cool Australia. [Civics & Citizenship, English, Geography, History]
Archie Roach - musician, songwriter, storyteller, Stolen Generations survivor - and a collective of Elders speak about their lived experiences and who they are as First Nations people, with a focus on sense of place, belonging, community and identity. [Arts, Civics & Citizenship, History]
Clips and resources based on the documentary about Australian Football legend Adam Goodes - Indigenous Australian and a former AFL footballer, known for his community work and anti-racism advocacy. Includes articles to help guide teachers in delivering these resources. [Civics & Citizenship, History]
Early Colonisation - ABC Education
Learn about this momentous voyage, its famous crew and the lasting impact HMB Endeavour's arrival in Australia had on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples – the continent's First Peoples.
Exploring Aboriginal Melbourne with the Koorie Heritage Trust
Learn about the five tribal groups of the Kulin Nation, the traditional owners of Melbourne and its colonisation story.
Explore what life was like in Tasmania (lutruwita) for the local palawa people before Europeans arrived, the European settlement of the colony and what life for convicts was like in the early colony.
Explore what life was like before and after colonisation for the local Aboriginal people of the Darwin area, the Larrakia, as well as the settlers.
Learn about the places that were important to the Whadjuk people and the impacts of colonisation in these early days.
A History of Aboriginal Rights in WA
Come on a journey through Western Australia's past to learn about Aboriginal peoples' struggle for rights.
The Arts
Australian Aboriginal Art Education & Teacher Resources - Japingka Aboriginal Art
Includes educational resources and lesson plans for primary and secondary school levels. These resources have been developed or reviewed by the Japingka Aboriginal Art Gallery using materials shared by the artists. Resource lists are divided by theme, language, Dreamtime story, history, artistic style, region, and artist. There are also introductory guides to particular topics.
Indigenous Resource Page - ASME (Australian Society for Music Education)
While the focus tends towards Western Australian artists, the page includes links to artists, songs, lesson plans, and classroom resources, as well as a note about teaching Indigenous culture.
Representing Indigenous Australians in 19th Century Art - ABC Education
Explore these artworks on Indigenous Australians from the National Gallery of Australia's collection of 19th century Australian art.
Education Resources - Bangarra Dance Theatre
Bangarra Dance Theatre are a company of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander performers and one of Australia's leading performing arts companies. The educational resources they provide - including classroom resources and background information - are designed to offer a range of pathways for students to explore the art of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander storytelling. Performances are available to view via this ClickView playlist and each video includes additional teacher notes in the 'Resource' tab.
Language
Gambay: A Map of Australia's First Languages - First Languages Australia
Showcasing over 780 languages this interactive map uses information contributed by regional language centres and communities around Australia. The aim is to develop a map of Australia's first languages that reflect the names and groupings favoured by community. Additional audio resources are included where available. Due to the collaborative nature of the project, the map will continue to be updated.
Teachers' Notes - First Languages Australia (Gambay)
This compilation of Teachers' Notes is designed to assist in the teaching of First Nations languages across the Australian Curriculum. Resources are available for the following subject areas, predominantly in Years 7-10: Mathematics; Science; History; Geography; Economics; Civics; and English (for Foundation, and Years 1-10).
Place Names - ABC Education
Indigenous communities share the stories behind the place names of their country [geography focus]
Resources on palawa kani for educators - Tasmanian Aboriginal Centre
Recommended online resources about palawa kani, the language of Tasmanian Aborigines; suitable for all levels.
Educator notes: palawa kani - ABC Kids Listen
Aimed at the early learning level this page includes resource links, audio clips, and a PDF version of the Educator Notes.
Data and statistics surrounding various aspects First Nations groups can be accessed through the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) government websites. These sites offer high quality data and reports on such areas as housing, education, language, and health, among others correlating to data both Australia-wide and region-specific.
Use the AIHW 2022 overview reports as a starting point:
Profile of Indigenous Australians
Indigenous Health and Wellbeing
Other reports of interest regarding Tasmanian-specific data, as well as reconciliation, include the following:
Tasmania: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander population summary - ABS
2022 Australian Reconciliation Barometer
This is a national research survey – conducted every two years – that looks at the relationship between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and other Australians, and how perceptions affect progress towards reconciliation.
Pathway to Truth-Telling and Treaty: Report to Premier Peter Gutwein (2021)
In 2021, Professor Kate Warner AC lead a process to understand directly from Aboriginal people themselves how best to take Tasmania’s next steps towards reconciliation. The report produced explores options for an agreed way forward towards reconciliation, as well as the view of our First Nations people on a truth‑telling process and pathway to Treaty.
The Aboriginal Education Services (AES) provides a range of resources and services to schools. Their library is open and accessible to all. To find more resources, search the AES Library Catalogue
The AES also offers resources specific to the Year 7 Curriculum unit Deep Time Lutruwita and Australia, including curriculum documents, the Orb Investigations, Tasmanian Creation Stories, Aboriginal Heritage Tasmania, TMAG, the National Museum of Australia, academic resources, and more.
Educational Resources - NAIDOC
These resources have been designed to address The Australian Curriculum: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Culture cross-curriculum priority. They may be used across a variety of learning areas and grades from Foundation to Year 12, with potential applicability for those studying Indigenous Studies at a VET or university level.
NAIDOC Week - SBS Learn
SBS Learn, provides teaching resources on First Nations perspectives in a variety of areas for Foundation - Year 10 students. Skip to the 2023 Teacher Resource.
NAIDOC Week - ABC Education
The official educational resource partner for NAIDOC Week 2023: For Our Elders, ABC Education provides a variety of educational resources, including short videos and additional links.
The following resources focus primarily on the teaching of Tasmanian Aboriginal histories and cultural concepts.
A collection of online resources, this project has been developed by Aboriginal Education Services, Department of Education, Tasmania and is divided into four main topic sections: Living Cultures (contemporary cultural practices); Connection to Country (significant places); Layers of Time (oral history); and Explore Sea Country (a curriculum-aligned resource for Australian Marine Parks, including background information, and lesson ideas , excursion worksheets, and post-excursion activities for early years, and middle and upper primaries).
The Classroom Resources page provides supplementary material to support the teaching of Tasmanian Aboriginal histories and cultures and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Cultures cross-curriculum priority. These include teaching guides, videos, and learning tasks. Specific cultural practices for which there are resources provided include: Dance; Fibres; Food; Muttonbirding; Ochre; Shell Stringing; Shelters; and Stone Tools.
The Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery provides additional resources ion the cultural tradition of shell necklace stringing. The Teachers' Guide produced in association with the Kanalaritja: An Unbroken String exhibition, includes learning opportunities, inquiry questions, and teaching ideas, as well as links to external resources and websites. The Organising Ideas framework is used to align content with the Australian Curriculum. The guide is generally aimed towards use with Years 5-9, however the information may be adapted and many of the resources mentioned are designed for all ages. Hyperlinks are included in the text to videos, websites, and classroom activities.
The Tasmanian Aboriginal Centre website is a useful location for palawa kani resources and information. Their Resources on palawa kani for educators is suitable for all levels and contains recommended online resources. For an early learning level, the ABC Kids Listen Educator notes: palawa kani page includes resource links, audio clips, and a PDF version of the Educator Notes.
The Years 11 & 12 Tasmanian Aboriginal Studies Teaching & Learning Supplement may be used with the Tasmanian Aboriginal Studies Level 2 TASC (TAS215118) course document and will assist teachers in delivering the course and modifying it where necessary. There is a useful list of websites that can be used for this topic on pages 18-19 of the supplement. Use the TASC website for further information about this course.
Resources on this link are designed to accompany the Year 7 curriculum unit: Deep Time Lutruwita and Australia. It includes curriculum documents, the Orb Investigations, Tasmanian Creation Stories, Aboriginal Heritage Tasmania, TMAG, the National Museum of Australia, academic resources, and more.
Narragunnawali: Reconciliation in Education
Explore this site to discover more about reconciliation within the context of education. The site also provides the following resources:
Reconciliation in Education: What we know and where we need to go - Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership Limited (aitsl)
This collaborative research summary from March 2023 has been conducted by the Australian National University’s Centre for Social Research and Methods and Reconciliation Australia. It discusses the importance and impact of reconciliation activities in education, as well as supports available to educators, and the ongoing role of education in reconciliation. It includes references and a resource list for further information.
Resources - Uluru Statement From the Heart
This resource page includes the secondary education tool for use with the Uluru Statement from the Heart, as well as the archive for associated webinars conducted during 2021.
Stolen Generations Resource Kit for Teachers and Students - Healing Foundation
This resource kit has been created in close consultation with Stolen Generations survivors, as well as First Nations and non-Indigenous teachers, parents, early childhood specialists and curriculum writers. Designed for students from Foundation to Year 9, it aims to educate young people about the Stolen Generations - the policies, historical context, and lasting impact. The kit includes case studies, lesson plans, and additional resources.
Reconciliation Film Club - NITV
This online platform launched by the partnership of NITV, SBS, and Reconciliation Australia, is "an exciting web offering that supports organisations to host screenings of a curated selection of compelling Indigenous documentaries from Australia’s leading Indigenous filmmakers, and Indigenous news and current affairs." Its purpose is to encourage a deeper understanding of First Nations perspectives, histories, and cultures, as well as prompting conversation about such issues and supporting engagement in an organisation's Reconciliation Action Plan (RAP).
Also focusing on aspects of reconciliation and Indigenous experience are the following ABC Education resources:
Archie Roach and a collective of Elders speak about their lived experiences and who they are as First Nations people. Topics discussed include the impacts of their childhood experiences as members of the Stolen Generations and attempted assimilation into white society, as well as being forbidden to speak their languages, practice cultural ways, or talk about their people.
Adam Goodes is an Indigenous Australian and a former AFL footballer, known for his community work and anti-racism advocacy. In 2015 he performed an Aboriginal war cry in celebration of a goal. The abuse he suffered following this event is explored in this collection of videos and accompanying articles, including perspectives on cultural identity, racism, resilience and reconciliation.
In My Blood It Runs & First Nations Perspectives
As part of Reconciliation Week 2023, ClickView conducted a professional development webinar taking a First Nations pe.rspectives look at themes from the documentary In My Blood It Runs.
Webinar highlights include:
The following resources encompass methods of teaching with regard to First Nations content, including professional learning, evaluating and integrating content, and Australian Curriculum resources.
This 8 ways pedagogy framework is an initiative of NSW Education, giving each element in the above diagram the following explanation and cultural learning equivalent:
Story Sharing: Approaching learning through narrative = we connect through the stories we share
Learning Maps: Explicitly mapping/visualising processes = we picture our pathways of knowledge.
Non-verbal: Applying intra-personal and kinaesthetic skills to thinking and learning = we see, think, act, make and share without words.
Symbols and Images: Using images and metaphors to understand concepts and content = we keep and share knowledge with art and objects.
Land Links: Place-based learning, linking content to local land and place = we work with lessons from land and nature.
Non-linear: Producing innovations and understanding by thinking laterally or combining systems = we put different ideas together and create new knowledge.
Deconstruct/Reconstruct: Modelling and scaffolding, working from wholes to parts (watch then do) = we work from wholes to parts, watching and then doing.
Community Links: Centering local viewpoints, applying learning for community benefit = we bring new knowledge home to help our mob.
Australian Perspectives - National Museum of Australia
Part of the Museum's Australia's Defining Moments Digital Classroom initiative, this is a free teacher professional learning program on First Nations, Gender, and Migration. Resources will be available until December 2022.
Evaluating Resources Guide - Narragunnawali
Appropriate evaluation of resources is extremely important in avoiding the perpetration of negative stereotypes and misinformation about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples. Narragunnawali also provides subject-specific guides which may be used as starting points for resource selection.
Teaching with Aboriginal Resources - Creative Spirits
This section of the Teacher & Student Resources page looks at simple checks to make when selecting and integrating teaching resources.
The following are Australian Curriculum guidelines and resources for the cross-curriculum priority: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Cultures.
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Cultures (Version 8.4) - Australian Curriculum
Years 11 & 12 First Nations Studies Level 3 Teaching & Learning Supplement (First Nations Studies TAS315119)
Years 11 & 12 Tasmanian Aboriginal Studies Teaching & Learning Supplement (Tasmanian Aboriginal Studies TAS215118)
This research article from The Australian Journal of Indigenous Education discusses teaching practices, specifically exploring the challenges, experiences, and circumstances involved in non-Aboriginal teachers conducting the Stage 6 Aboriginal Studies syllabus explores the unique challenges, experiences and circumstances that enable and/orconstrain non-Aboriginal teachers involved in teaching the NSW Curriculum Stage 6 Aboriginal Studies syllabus.
Although primarily a visual format the following resources also include access to a variety of text resources. These articles, study guides, discussion questions, and the like may be used to for further investigation of the topics discussed.
Indigenous Culture - Behind the News
Short explanatory videos aimed at upper primary / lower secondary student level
Explore Australian Identities and History: First Contact - SBS Learn
Designed for use with the SBS documentary series First Contact, this teacher resource is applicable for use with Years 9 and 10 in HASS, English, and The Arts, and the cross-curriculum priority: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Cultures. It features: curriculum-aligned short clips; facts relating to the clip location and theme; discussion questions and activities; and interactive media. It has been structured to build empathy and intercultural understanding. A PDF version of the resource is also available, as is a PDF for the Season 2 Teachers' Notes.
Awaken - SBS On Demand
Three seasons of this Indigenous news and current affairs program are available via SBS On Demand. The panel show is hosted by journalist Stan Grant and focuses on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander issues. Articles on individual episodes may be accessed via the NITV website.
*Be aware that SBS On Demand requires an account in order to view content.
The First Inventors - SBS Learn
This Teacher Guide is designed to accompany the four-part documentary series The First Inventors. Each episode, and specific story clips are available via ClickView. Additional to the teacher guide, resources include activity sheets for each story, curriculum mapping, and question sheet. The resource is relevant to English, HASS, Science, and Technologies for Years 7 - 10.
Quick Links: