Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TASC Accounting: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Accounting subject guide. Here you will find print and online resources to support this subject.

TQA Course Information

TQA Accounting
TQA Course and assessment documents and past exam papers for this subject.

Books

These are a sample of accounting books available in the Nettlefold Library. Use the library catalogue to find additional books.

Useful Hutchins LibGuides

Useful Resources

Australian Securities Exchange Ltd (ASX)
Find information for the Australian Securities Exchange including stock quotes, market data, share prices, tools and resources as well as investment information.

CPA Australia 
CPA (Certified Practising Accountants) is Australia’s premier organisation in finance, accounting and business professionals. The CPA on-line site is highly detailed and informative providing information about careers, further education and training.

 Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand
The Institute represents accounting and business professionals in Australia and around the world.

Australian Taxation Office (ATO)
The ATO is the Government's principal revenue collection agency, and is part of the Treasurer's portfolio. Their Calculators & Tools page is particularly useful.

AccountingCoach
Another US based site where you can search over 1,000 accounting topics, dictionary, Q&A and self-tests. Well worth a look.

Tutor2u: Study notes: Business, Finance & Accounting
Introduction to Accounting with links to information on the right hand side.

Nine.com.au 
An Australian site that covers a range of financial topics.

Financial Newspapers, Magazines & Media

Australian Financial Review
Leading Australian Newspaper that covers business, finance and investment news in Australia

The Economist
Authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion

Money
Copies published in 2014 are available in the Nettlefold Library. To access current electronic issues, download the Zimio app and borrow this magazine using your LINC (State Library of Tasmania) membership.

The Age BusinessDay
Latest Business News, Financial and ASX Markets

The Australian Daily
National and International News with in-depth Business News and Political coverage

The Washington Post
Major US paper. Articles are archived after 2 weeks

Wall Street Journal
Largest financial newspaper in USA. Check regularly for world updates

Calculators

MoneySmart
Developed by the Australian Securities and Investments Commission, this site provides a range of calculators and tools and also financial information.
 
Calkoo
Online calculators for saving & investing, capital budgeting, cost of capital, wages & taxes, financial analysis, health, loan & leasing, and stock analysis.

Databases

Textbook

Additional information, revision questions and answers are provided online.

 

Media Providing Analysis and Opinion

Access news and opinion articles regarding world issues. It provides a Business and Economics section.

The Conversation
An Australian site that provides analysis and opinion of current issues. It provides a Business and Economy section

The Drum (ABC)
Provides commentary and opinion on current issues. Unfortunately, it's not possible to conduct a keyword search on this site, but you can search the whole of the ABC.

ABC Online
Access and search online versions and archives of ABC programs such as 4 Corners, Lateline, Foreign Correspondent etc