These articles focus on the history and origins of the Expressionism art movement.
Expressionism, an introduction - Khan Academy
This is an extended article focusing on the development and later decline of the movement.
Expressionism: History of Expressionism - Useum
The Origins of Expressionism, an Evocative Movement Inspired by Emotional Experience
Many of the leading artists of Expressionism were German. The following resources focus specifically on German Expressionism.
German Expressionism: A Break from Tradition
German Expressionism - One of the Greatest German Art Movements (includes Franz Marc and Wassily Kandinsky)
This site is dedicated to the Museum of Modern Art's collection of German Expressionist art. It contains links to a variety of information and resources, including a focus on Expressionist styles, themes, techniques, artists and their works, chronology, and more.
Significant artists and artworks of the Expressionist movement.
Art Movement: Expressionism - Expressionist Artists, Art & Overview - Artland
Expressionism Art - An Introduction to the Art of the Expressionism Years
Includes: Der Blaue Reiter; Edvard Munch; Wassily Kandinsky; Franz Marc
Famous Expressionism Paintings - Exploring the Best Expressional Art
Includes: The Scream (Edvard Munch); Large Blue Horses (Franz Marc)
As one of the most recognised artworks in history The Scream is often considered to be Edvard Munch's masterpiece. It is in fact a series of 4 pieces created over a period of 17 years, and has inspired a number of modern recreations and parodies in modern artwork. The following resources examine aspects of Munch's iconic artwork in more detail.
Anatomy of an Artwork: How Edvard Munch's The Scream Became an Icon
This article includes 3 minute video discussing the artwork.
The Scream, 1893 by Edvard Munch
10 things you may not know about The Scream
20+ Modern Twists on Edvard Munch's Masterpiece 'The Scream'
'The Scream' by Edvard Munch from the Impressionist & Modern Sale, May 2012 [video; 6 minutes]
Simon Shaw and Adam Gopnik, author, critic and staff-writer at "The New Yorker" discuss the extraordinary power and appeal of Edvard Munch's celebrated masterpiece, The Scream.
Edvard Munch’s The Scream: analysis of a masterpiece
Munch, The Scream - Khan Academy
A Mystery Inscription on ‘The Scream’ That Baffled Experts for Decades Was Written by Edvard Munch Himself, New Research Shows
Edvard Munch Authored Mysterious Writing on 'The Scream,' New Analysis Reveals
Mystery of the Secret Message Written on Edvard Munch’s ‘The Scream’ Finally Solved
Munch's Scream is Fading Because of Viewers' Breath, New Study Finds
Visste du dette om Edvard Munchs «Skrik»? (Did you know this about Edvard Munch's Scream?) [video; 1 minute]
Conservator at the National Museum (Oslo), Thierry Ford, shows you some secrets of the famous Scream.
Biographies of Heinrich Campendonk:
Heinrich Campendonk - Thyssen-Bornemisza National Museum
Heinrich Campendonk (1889-1957) - Landau Fine Art
Heinrich Campendonk (Life and Work) - Friends of Heinrich Campendonk
See Campendonk's works at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and Sotheby's. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Museum Penzberg - Campendonk Collection
This museum houses the largest collection of works by Heinrich Campendonk in the world. *The original site is written in German so allow your web browser to translate the pages.*
Biographies of Rolf Nesch:
Rolf Nesch - Rolf Nesch Website
This website focuses entirely on the life and works of the artist, as well as providing links to additional resources.
See Nesch's works at the Museum of Modern Art, and via ArtNet. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Rolf Nesch, Herring Catch, a colour metal print in six parts - Google Arts and Culture
Biographies of Franz Marc:
Franz Marc - Google Arts and Culture
See Marc's works at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and Sotheby's. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Ernst Barlach:
Ernst Barlach - Google Arts and Culture
See Barlach's works at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and Sotheby's. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Otto Dix:
Otto Dix - Google Arts and Culture
Famous German Artists - The Best and Most Famous German Painters [Otto Dix - Art in Context]
Otto Dix: Germain Painter and Printmaker (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to: a full biography; his artistic legacy, progression, and influences; important artworks; and additional resources, including websites, articles, video-clips, and more.
Other than a detailed biography, this site also provides access to a large catalogue of Dix's artworks - prints, drawings, and paintings.
German artist Otto Dix fought in and survived some of the worst battles of the First World War. He was one of the only visual artists to reveal the trauma of war in their work, transforming his battlefield experiences into raw and powerful art.
How Otto Dix Translated His War Time Experience Into Haunting Prints
The Haunted Visions of Otto Dix [video; 4 minutes]
Lost Art: Otto Dix; The Trench (1920-3)
Otto Dix and Paul Nash: Views from the First World War
Otto Dix - Exhibition Overview
Otto Dix and August Sander: In the Eye of the Storm
See Dix's works at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Max Beckmann:
Max Beckmann - Google Arts and Culture
A short biography of the artist. This site also includes links to additional resources and online catalogues of Beckmann's works.
Max Beckmann: German Painter, Printmaker, and Draftsman (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to: a full biography; his artistic legacy, progression, and influences; important artworks; and additional resources, including websites, articles, and video-clips.
The following resources focus on Beckmann's artworks exhibitions.
Max Beckmann - Exhibition Overview (TATE)
A New York Beckmann, for Sale in London
Max Beckman: Self-Portrait with Horn - Exhibition Overview (Neue Galerie)
See Beckmann's works at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Max Beckmann in New York - Exhibition Overview
Inhaling New York: The Always-Smoking German Modernist Max Beckmann Takes Refuge in New York
On His Way to The Met: Max Beckmann in New York with Sabine Rewald
Biographies of Wassily Kandinsky:
Wassily Kandinsky - Britannica Schools [Britannica - extended biography]
Wassily Kandinsky - Google Arts and Culture
Famous Painters - Looking at the Best Artists of All Time [Wassily Kandinsky]
This site also provides access to a variety of resources about Kandinsky's life and works.
Wassily Kandinsky: Russian Painter (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to: a full biography; his artistic legacy, progression, and influences; important artworks; and additional resources, including websites, articles, and videos.
Kandinsky at the Art Gallery of New South Wales - article discussing the arc of Kandinsky's career
See Kandinsky's works at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Vasily Kandinsky: From Blaue Reiter to the Bauhaus, 1910-1925 - Exhibition Overview
Kandinsky: The Path to Abstraction - Exhibition Overview
How to Paint Like Kanindsky [video; 5 minutes]
Kandinsky Paintings - Exploring the Best Wassily Kandinsky Artworks
Discover the Famous Works of Wassily Kandinsky, the Artist Who Painted Music
Biographies of Edvard Munch:
Edvard Munch - Britannica Schools [Britannica - extended biography]
Edvard Munch - Google Arts and Culture
8 Startling Facts About the Troubled Life of Edvard Munch
Edvard Munch 1863-1944 - The Munch Museum
As well as a biography, this site also contains links to a variety of information and resources about the artist's life and works.
Edvard Munch and his Paintings
This site also contains detailed information about and analyses of Much's artworks.
Edvard Munch: Norwegian Painter and Printmaker (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to: a full biography; his artistic legacy, progression, and influences; important artworks; and additional resources, including websites, articles, and more.
Edvard Munch is considered the founder of modern expressionism. The following resources relating to various exhibitions discuss his artworks and artistic progression.
Paintings, Etchings, and Lithographs by Edvard Munch
The soul laid bare: Edvard Munch at Tate Modern I
Edvard Munch: The Modern Eye (overview)
Edvard Munch: The Modern Eye [video; 4 minutes] - exhibition walkthrough
Inside the eye of the beholder: Edvard Munch II
Edvard Munch: Love and Angst and Everything In-Between
Take a closer look at some of Munch's artworks. Discover more about his most well-known work - The Scream - in the separate information box.
Edvard Munch Paintings – Looking at Edvard Munch’s Most Famous Works
Beyond 'The Scream': How Edvard Munch Channeled a Timeless Sense of Dread
Girls on the Bridge: Munch's Moody, Resonant Masterwork
Anatomy of an Artwork: ‘The Two Human Beings. The Lonely Ones’ by Edvard Munch [video; 1min 30sec]
Edvard Munch's Partial Eclipse of the Sun
This article also includes a video (Tracey Emin on Her Man Munch), the first 6 minutes of which discuss Munch's work.
See Munch's works at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the National Museum (Oslo), and the Museum of Modern Art. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Check the non-fiction section at 759 for resources about painters and their artworks.
Der Blaue Reiter (The Blue Rider) is one of the pioneering movements of German Expressionism, designed to focus on pursuing the spiritual value of art. Founded by artists Wassily Kandinsky and Franz Marc, the term 'Der Blaue Reiter' also refers to the group of artists who followed this artistic theory.
Artists Max Beckmann and Otto Dix both chronicled their experiences of war and the post-war Weimar Republic in their works. These exhibition overviews provide information and links to the artworks involved.
War/Hell: Master Prints by Otto Dix and Max Beckmann - Exhibition Overview (Neue Galerie)
Dix and Beckmann: Two Painters Convey The Horror of War
Glitter and Doom: German Portraits from the 1920s - Exhibition Overview (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
German Drawings and Prints from the Weimar Republic (1919–33) - Exhibition Overview (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
The 'How Artists See' series of lectures looks at the different ways artists viewed the world and their representations of it, giving each artistic movement its place in Western art, while also offering insight into the lives and personalities of the artists.
These two lectures include discussions on Wassily Kandinsky and Otto Dix.
Seeking the Soul: Wassily Kandinsky and the Road to Abstraction [1 hour, 6 minutes]
The intellectual Wassily Kandinsky also looked inwards: he saw no need to represent the objective world. While the imagery of Kandinsky’s early abstract paintings recalls the interior of a Russian Orthodox church, Mark Rothko’s art reflects the simpler aesthetic of an Orthodox Jewish upbringing.
Reflecting Society: George Grosz, Otto Dix and the Chaos of Weimar Germany [1 hour, 3 minutes]
The horrors of World War One compelled George Grosz and Otto Dix to reflect a society reeling from defeat during the early years of the Weimar Republic.