The following articles focus on the history, origins, and influences of the Fauvism art movement.
Fauvism - The Origins, Artworks and Artists of the Fauve Movement
Exploring Fauvism's Expressive and Colorful Contributions to Modern Art
As well as a detailed overview this article contains a timeline and history, as well as a focus on the artists and their works.
The following articles, while general, have a greater focus on the artists involved in Fauvism.
Fauvism - The Metropolitan Museum of Art
A Beginner's Guide to Fauvism - Khan Academy
Significant artists and artworks of the Fauvist movement.
Fauvism - MoMA Learning (Henri Matisse and André Derain)
Fauvism Art & Artists: Here are 13 Iconic Paintings
Fauve Painting in the Permanent Collection - National Gallery of Art
The Vibrant Art of the Fauves [slideshow]
Includes: Le Marché aux poisons (Raoul Dufy); Vase de fleurs (Maurice de Vlaminck); Collioure Plage St. Vincent (Henri Matisse); Les Canotiers à Chatou (Maurice de Vlaminck); L'Horloge de la plage de Deauville (Kees van Dongen)
Les Fauves, Property from an Important American Collection [video; 4 minutes]
Focuses on Fauvism, and specifically Maurice de Vlaminck's Sous-Bois and André Derain's Les voiles rouge
Interested in some extra research and finding out more about Henri Matisse?
Explore his life and works in more detail with these video and audio resources:
Henri Matisse and Fauvism - National Gallery of Art [video; 70 minutes]
This lecture explores the roles that Matisse, his followers, and the short-lived Fauvist movement played in the development of 20th-century expressionism.
The Life and Times: Henri Matisse's The Three O'Clock Sitting (1924) [video; 46 minutes]
Take a closer look at the unique and fascinating life of Henri Matisse's masterpiece The Three O'Clock Sitting, which he created on the sunny Riviera while teaching one of his favorite models how to paint.
Video & Audio: Henri Matisse - TATE
The TATE has a number of podcasts and short videos about Matisse and his works.
Matisse and Picasso
Henri Matisse and Pablo Picasso met in 1906 and the artistic relationship and rivalry between them would continue for over 50 years. This led both artists to have great success and influence on Western European art of the 20th Century. The following resources explore this relationship and the effect it had on their works in more detail.
Two masters, one friendship: the story of Matisse and Picasso
This essay was written in conjunction with the TATE's exhibition Henri Matisse: The Cut-Outs. Click here to access mentioned video - Françoise Gilot on Matisse - and its transcript.
Matisse & Picasso - Smithsonian Magazine
Jennifer Katanic on Henri Matisse’s The Piano Lesson [video; 3 minutes 22 seconds]
Josephine McReynolds on Henri Matisse’s Swimming Pool [video; 3 minutes 32 seconds]
Biographies of Henri Matisse:
Henri Matisse - Google Arts and Culture
Henri Matisse (1869-1954) - artnet
How Henri Matisse Revolutionized Traditional Art and His Influence on Modern Art
Henri Matisse (1869-1954) - Metropolitan Museum of Art
Focuses on Matisse's artistic career.
This Matisse website also provides access to detailed information about the artist's works.
Henri Matisse: French Painter, Draftsman, and Collagist (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to: a full biography; his artistic legacy, progression, and influences; important artworks; and additional resources, including articles, video-clips, and more.
One of the cofounders of Fauvism, Matisse was famous for using colour to convey emotion. The following resources focus on his artworks, artistic methods, and the cut-outs for which he was later known.
Matisse: In Search of True Painting - Exhibition Overview
5 Matisse Paintings That Revolutionized Modern Art
Henri Matisse, Collector? See How the Artist’s Favorite Possessions Inspired His Groundbreaking Work
Collage Art – A History of Collage as an Artistic Medium [Henri Matisse]
Henri Matisse: The Cut-Outs
TATE: Exhibition Overview: His brilliant final chapter
TATE: 'It was like drawing, but with scissors… there was sensuality in the cutting'
MoMA: Exhibition Overview
MoMA: Interactive Exhibition
The following resources take a closer look at some of Matisse's well-known artworks.
Fauvism and Matisse - This provides access to a number of articles and videos discussing Matisse's works, including: Luxe, calme et volupté; Open Window, Collioure; Bonheur de Vivre; Dance I; The Red Studio; Goldfish; The Blue Window; Piano Lesson; and Jazz.
Woman with a Hat (Famous Portrait Paintings - artincontext)
Still Life with a Pewter Jug and Pink Statuette (Famous Still Life Artists and Paintings - artincontext)
La Danse (Famous French Painters and Their 15 Most Popular Paintings - artincontext)
Henri Matisse's Divine Dancer [video; 3 minutes]
A Close Look at Henri Matisse’s Bather
Matisse’s 'Jazz' and the Flowing Rhythms of Abstraction
The Swimming Pool - MoMA
Conserving Henri Matisse's "The Swimming Pool" [video; 7 minutes]
See Matisse's works at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of André Derain:
André Derain - Google Arts and Culture
André Derain (1880-1954) - artnet
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to: a full biography; his artistic legacy, progression, and influences; important artworks; and additional resources, including websites, articles, and video-clips.
A co-founder of Fauvism, André Derain's artworks are characterised by dense, vibrant brushworks.
L'Estaque (Famous Landscape Paintings – A List of the Best Painted Landscapes - artincontext)
Les Voiles rouges (Modern Visionaries: Monet, Picasso, Rodin & More - Sotheby's)
Anatomy of an Artwork: 'Bateaux à Collioure’ by André Derain [video; 2 minutes]
From the Archives: Leland Bell on André Derain’s Underrated Paintings, in 1960
Life and Times: André Derain's Regent Street, London (1906) [video; 55 minutes]
See Derain's works at The Metropolitan Museum of Art and Sotheby's. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Georges Braque:
Georges Braque - Google Arts and Culture
This Braque website also provides access to detailed information about the artist's works.
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to: a full biography; his artistic legacy, progression, and influences; important artworks; and additional resources, including articles, video-clips, and more.
See Braque's works at The Metropolitan Museum of Art and Sotheby's. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Braque - Exhibition Overview (TATE)
Georges Braque - Exhibition Overview (MoMA)
As well as installation photographs this page provides access to resources published in association with the exhibition, including the book: Georges Braque by Henry Hope. Pages 18 - 35 of the PDF (the book's page numbers are different) look at Braque's experience with Fauvism.
Although Georges Braque's career began with Fauvism, he later pioneered Cubism with Picasso. Check the Cubism LibGuide page to discover more about Braque's Cubist works.
Biographies of Raoul Dufy:
Raoul Dufy - Google Arts and Culture
Raoul Dufy (1877-1953) - artnet
Raoul Dufy - Thyssen-Bornemisza National Museum
How Raoul Dufy’s Colorful Art Captured the “Joie de Vivre” of 20th-Century France
Raoul Dufy: French Painter, Printmaker, and Textile Designer (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist, his accomplishments, and his artistic progression.
Common themes in Dufy's works include women, horses, fields, and boats, often focusing on scenes of luxury and pleasure in his vivid and colourful style.
The Vibrant Colors of Raoul Dufy
From the Riviera to Race Day with Raoul Dufy [video; 1 minute]
La Fée Electricité - City of Paris, Museum of Modern Art
Fairy of electricity - Arthive (scroll through the images to see the entire artwork)
Let there be light - and colour! - The Royal Society [Fairy of Electricity
See Dufy's works at The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Sotheby's, and The National Gallery of Art. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Georges Rouault:
Georges Rouault - Google Arts and Culture
Georges Rouault (1871-1958) - artnet
Georges Rouault: French Painter and Engraver (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to: a full biography; his artistic legacy, progression, and influences; important artworks; and additional resources, including websites, articles, video-clips.
See Rouault's works at The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Sotheby's, and The National Gallery of Art. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Maurice de Vlaminck:
Maurice de Vlaminck - Britannica
Maurice de Vlaminck - Google Arts and Culture
Maurice de Vlaminck - Sotheby's
Maurice de Vlaminck (1876-1958) - artnet
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to: a full biography; his artistic legacy, progression, and influences; important artworks; and additional resources, including websites, articles, and video-clips.
See de Vlaminck's works at The Metropolitan Museum of Art and Sotheby's. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
De Vlaminck and Jawlensky Among the Wild Beasts [slideshow]
Launch the slideshow to see information about the following of de Vlaminck's works: Nu couché; Paysage aus bois mort (Ramasseur de bois mort); and Pêcheur à Chatou.
How ‘The Wild Beasts’ Liberated Color and Forever Changed Modern Art [video; 4 minutes]
Also containing general information on Fauvism, this looks in detail at three of Vlaminck's works: Nu couché; Paysage aus bois mort (Ramasseur de bois mort); and Pêcheur à Chatou.
Van Gogh & Vlaminck: A Celebration of Colour [video; 3 minutes, 26 seconds]
After the introduction, skip ahead to 1 minute 35 seconds to hear about Vlaminck's Le Verger
Sous-bois (Modern Visionaries: Monet, Picasso, Rodin & More - Sotheby's)
Check the non-fiction section at 759 for resources about painters and their artworks.
Matisse by
This series gives a fascinating view of the lives and works of major artists, describing the challenges and hardships suffered by most artists and how their genius was accepted by the world. Their techniques are fully illustrated by copies of their works. These books encourage an understanding and appreciation of art.
The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) provides access to various publications - like books, catalogues, and press releases (which often give a good overview of what the exhibition is about) - associated with their exhibitions. Check out the following for some additional reading. All publications can be accessed from the main exhibition page.
Exhibition: The "Wild Beasts": Fauvism and Its Affinities
Includes installation images, two press releases, and PDF of the book The "Wild Beasts": Fauvism and Its Affinities by John Elderfield
Exhibition: Les Fauves
Includes installation images, press release, and PDF of the exhibition catalogue
Exhibition: Henri Matisse: A Retrospective
Includes a detailed overview, installation images, two press releases, and PDFs of the book Henri Matisse, a retrospective by John Elderfield and the exhibition catalogue
Exhibition: Georges Braque
Includes installation images, three press releases, and a PDF of the book Georges Braque by Henry Hope
Exhibition: Georges Rouault
Includes installation images, two press releases, and a PDF of the book Georges Rouault: Paintings and Prints by James Thrall Soby
Exhibition: The Prints of Georges Rouault
Includes installation images, two press releases, and a PDF of the book The Prints of Georges Rouault by Monroe Wheeler
Exhibition: Georges Rouault: A Retrospective
Includes installation images, two press releases, and a PDF of the exhibition catalogue