Introduction to Dada - Khan Academy
These Dadaist Artists Delved into Abstraction
Famous Dadaism Artists – The Beginning of Conceptual Art
Marcel Duchamp: Anything Goes [article discusses Marcel Duchamp, Francis Picabia, and Man Ray]
Most well-known of Duchamp's works; iconic to Dada
Use the following resources to discover more about the piece and its influence on art.
Fountain by Marcel Duchamp - Google Arts & Culture
“Fountain” by Marcel Duchamp – Duchamp’s Controversial Urinal Art
What Was So Great About Marcel Duchamp’s Fountain?
Duchamp, Fountain [video, 3:11]
How Duchamp's Urinal Changed Art Forever
How Marcel Duchamp’s Fountain revolutionized the art world
'Fountain' by Marcel Duchamp [video, 4:52] - National Galleries Scotland
The French-German artist born with the name Hans Arp also used the name Jean Arp in his work.
Biographies of Jean Arp:
Hans Arp: Biography - Arp Foundation
Jean (Hans) Arp - Utopia/Dystopia
4 Fascinating Facts About Jean (Hans) Arp
Hans Arp – Learn More About the Famous Dada Artist
Hans Arp: French-German Sculptor, Painter, and Collagist - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to a full biography, his artistic legacy, important artworks, and additional resources, including books, websites, articles, and video-clips.
As a Dadaist, Hans Arp followed the principles of 'guided chance,' resulting in many of his artworks showing elements of abstraction. These articles take a closer look at Arp's artistic progression, philosophy, and works.
Jean Arp and the Abstraction Inspired by Nature
Jean Arp: Transforming a Century of Modern Art
Playful, ambiguous, sensuous — the alluring art of Jean Arp
Boundary-Breaking Sculptors of the 20th Century: Jean (Hans) Arp
20 Top Vibrant Artworks By Jean Arp
Enak's Tears (Terrestrial Forms) (1917)
See Arp's works at the Guggenheim, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Christie's, and Sotheby's. Click on an artwork to learn more about it.
Although one of the founders of Dadaism, Hans Arp was also a major figure in the Surrealism art movement. To learn more about Arp's Surrealist works, take a look at the Surrealism LibGuide page.
Biographies of Marcel Duchamp:
Marcel Duchamp - Britannica Schools
5 Facts About Marcel Duchamp, the Pioneering Artist Responsible For Dadaism
Marcel Duchamp – Explore Marcel Duchamp’s Art and Interesting Life
Marcel Duchamp: French Painter and Sculptor - The Art Story
Fountain; learn more about this iconic work in the separate information box.
The essential Duchamp: an exotic radical who rejected the establishment
Duchamp, The Bride Stripped Bare by Her Bachelors, Even (The Large Glass)
“Bicycle Wheel” by Marcel Duchamp – The Wheel of Innovation
Anatomy of An Artwork: Marcel Duchamp in Miniature [slideshow, 7 images]
See Duchamp's works at the Philadelphia Museum of Art and Obelisk Art History. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Francis Picabia:
Francis Picabia - Britannica Schools
Francis Picabia: The Dadaist Master of Machinist Art
Francis Picabia: French Designer, Illustrator, Painter, and Writer - The Art Story
artworks
Francis Picabia, Ideal - Khan Academy
See Picabia's works at The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Kurt Schwitters:
Kurt Schwitters (German, 1887–1948) - Artnet
Kurt Schwitters: German Painter, Collagist, and Writer - The Art Story
These articles take a closer look at Schwitters' artistic progression and artworks.
Kurt Schwitters – Discover Kurt Schwitters Artwork - Art in Context
31 Kurt Schwitters Paintings - Artchive
See Schwitters' works at The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Man Ray:
Man Ray (American, 1890–1976) - Artnet
Man Ray (Emmanuel Radnitzky) - MoMA
Man Ray – The Life and Works of Artist Emmanuel Radnitzky - Art in Context
Man Ray: American Photographer, Sculptor, Painter, and Filmmaker - The Art Story
artworks
10 Most Famous Rayographs by Man Ray
"Observatory Time: The Lovers" by Man Ray - An Analysis
See Ray's works at The Metropolitan Museum of Art and Obelisk Art History. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Christian Schad:
Christian Schad - Thyssen-Bornemisza National Museum
Christian Schad: 11 Important Facts About the German Artist
Christian Schad: German Painter and Photographer - The Art Story
artworks
Schadograph (1919) - Art Institute Chicago
See Schad's works at The Metropolitan Museum of Art and Artnet. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
A History of 20th-Century Art by
Here is a fresh, exhilarating approach to the history of twentieth-century art. Rejecting the year-by-year sequential approach of conventional accounts, author Bernard Blistene tackles the subject thematically, using key works as a springboard to understanding the ideas and techniques of the major artists of the century. The book encompasses the visual arts in the broadest sense of the term. In addition to painting, sculpture and the new art forms of the postwar era, it covers architecture, photography, industrial design and video. Each chapter treats a different theme-- from Fauvism to film, Dada to design-- providing: * a general overview of the movement or period in question* numerous illustrations of particular works, each accompanied by brief explanatory texts* chronologies detailing important events within and around the world of art* bibliographies and suggested museum visits for each movement. With over 500 illustrations, "A History of 20th-Century Art provides a lucid and compelling introduction to artistic creation in the last century.
Modern Art by
An introduction to modern art which covers most developments in the visual arts in the last hundred years. The texts written by art historians are up-to-date in approach and are supplemented by chronologies and bibliographies. Includes a gallery of 20th century art with an informed survey of the period.
Art and Text by
The use of both word and image in artistic practice has become a defining feature of contemporary art. From typographers to easel painters to video artists, text has become a larger part of artistic practice ever since Modernism, with practitioners pushing the boundaries of their discipline to incorporate an increasing variety of expression and meaning. Organised thematically, Art and Text investigates the use of text in contemporary artistic practice, showcasing the most innovative and groundbreaking examples of how word and image have come to occupy the same artistic terrain in contemporary art. With accessible essays on the relationship between word and image, Art and Text showcases some of the most interesting work from a cross-section of well-and lesser-known artists from the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Featuring the work of contemporary artists: Cy Twombly, famous for his calligraphic style graffiti; Stefan Sahmeister, who has produced album covers for the likes of the Rolling Stones, Aerosmith and Lou Reed; Robert Indiana, best known for his LOVE print, since made into a sculpture installed in several locations across the world; as well as Raymond Pettibon, Roy Lichtenstein, Barbara Kruger, Bruce Nauman and Duane Michals. The influence of particular Modernist artists will also be considered such as Man Ray, Margritte and Picasso. Art and Text is a comprehensive, lavishly illustrated and timely review of the influence of language on art. ILLUSTRATIONS: 400 colour & b/w
The 20th Century Art Book by
The 20th Century Art Bookwas hailed upon its release as an exciting celebration of the myriad forms assumed by art over the last century. Complementing the phenomenally successful Art Book, and most recently The American Art Book, it presents a new and original way of bringing art alive. Covering the truly international nature of the modern art scene, it encompasses established, iconic works of art and the classics of the future. 500 artists are showcased in alphabetical order, each represented by a full-page colour plate of a definitive work and an incisive text which sheds light on both image and creator. This book is above all easy to use: cross-references help the reader make connections between artists; there is a jargon-free glossary of artistic terms and movements; and an international directory of museums and galleries lists the works on public view. Ideal for those approaching the subject for the first time, it is a fun and unintimidating look at the ever-expanding boundaries of art.
Artspoke by
Now that ArtSpeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements and Buzzwords has demystified post-war art, ArtSpoke is intented to clarify international art terms from Realism through Surrealism.
50 Art Ideas You Really Need to Know by
The ultimate guide to the most important ideas in art through the ages