The following articles take a deeper look at Surrealism, focusing on the history and origins of the art movement, as well as characteristics of the style.
Surrealism Art Movement: History, Characteristics, and Artwork
5 Things You Didn’t Know About Surrealism
Surrealism - Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Surrealism: Origins and Precursors - Khan Academy
All You Need to Know About the Surrealist Movement
Surrealism: everything you need to know about the renegade artists who fused dream and reality
Games People Play: The Signs and Symbols of Surrealism
Cubism vs. Surrealism: Similarities and Differences
Questions on Surrealism - Britannica
Discusses the following questions: What was Surrealism and its goal? What are the characteristics of Surrealism? How are Surrealism and Dada related? Which artists practiced Surrealism? Who first used the word Surrealism?
Significant artists and artworks of the Surrealist movement.
Surrealist Artists – A Look at the Most Famous Surrealist Painters
5 Masters of Surrealism Who Painted Their Dreams and Visualized Their Inner Minds
7 Famous Surrealist Artists Who Achieved Greatness
10 Surrealist Artists Who Aren’t Salvador Dalí
10 Famous Surrealism Artworks You Should See
Evoking the Mystery: Lose Yourself in These Surrealist Works
10 Famous Surrealist Paintings From The Masters of Surrealism
Surrealist Paintings – 13 Famous Surrealism Paintings to Know
19 Most Mind-Bending Surrealism Art Examples in 2024
This article also looks at the history and characteristics of Surrealism.
Surrealist Sculpture - The Art Story
A detailed look at surrealist works in sculpture, including a history, concepts, key artists, and artworks as well as links to websites and articles for more information.
The Persistence of Memory, painted in 1931, is not just one of Salvador Dalí’s most famous works, it is also one of the most iconic Surrealist paintings in existence. Dalí continued to use the melting clock motif in a number of his later works, in both painting and sculptural forms. Use the following resources to examine aspects of this artwork in more detail.
Exploring Salvador Dalí’s Strange and Surreal Painting ‘The Persistence of Memory’
The Persistence of Memory – Inspecting Dalí’s Melting Clocks Painting
The Persistence of Memory: Understanding Dalí's Masterpiece
10 Facts You Don't Know About Salvador Dali's "Persistence of Memory"
New on View: Salvador Dalí -The Persistence of Memory (1931) - MoMA
Salvador Dalí. The Persistence of Memory. 1931 - MoMA [audio, 4:30; includes transcript]
Mia King on Salvador Dalí’s The Persistence of Memory [video, 2:49]
Dali, The Persistence of Memory - Khan Academy [video, 6:28, includes transcript]
'The Empire of Light' (L'Empire des lumières) describes a series of paintings (or 'variations') constructed by René Magritte. The paintings depict a dark nighttime scene beneath a bright daytime sky, focusing on the juxtaposition of night and day. Use the following resources to discover more about the works of Magritte which share the common theme of an exploration of light and darkness.
René Magritte, Empire of Light (L'empire des lumières) - Guggenheim
“The Empire of Light” by René Magritte – The Art of Juxtaposition
Floria Sigismondi on Magritte’s Masterpiece "L’Empire des Lumières" [video, 3:16]
The Untold Story behind Magritte's 'L'Empire des Lumières' [video, 2:46]
Empire of Light, 1950 by Rene Magritte
René Magritte: the timeless power of L’empire des lumières
The Empire of Lights (1954) by Rene Magritte
The Enigmatic World of Magritte’s ‘The Empire of Light’
In 1958 the home in which Frida Kahlo spent most of her life - La Casa Azul, or The Blue House' - was turned into a museum of her life and works. The Frida Kahlo Museum (Museo Frida Kahlo) offers a unique chance to explore the surrounds of the famous artist.
Museo Frida Kahlo - Google Arts & Culture
Casa Azul - A Pilgrimage That Still Maintains the Essence of Frida Kahlo
Explore “La Casa Azul”: Frida Kahlo’s Famous Blue House-Turned-Museum
A Virtual Tour of Frida Kahlo’s House (skip to the tour)
The French-German artist born with the name Hans Arp also used the name Jean Arp in his work.
Biographies of Jean Arp:
Jean (Hans) Arp: (French/German, –1966) - Artnet
Hans Arp: Biography - Arp Foundation
Jean Arp (1886-1966) - The Surrealist Digest
4 Fascinating Facts About Jean (Hans) Arp
Hans Arp: French-German Sculptor, Painter, and Collagist - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to a full biography, his artistic legacy, important artworks, and additional resources, including books, websites, articles, and video-clips.
Jean Arp was a profilic sculptor with many of these works following the Surrealist theme of 'biomorphism'. These articles take a closer look at Arp's artistic progression and works.
Jean Arp: Transforming a Century of Modern Art
Playful, ambiguous, sensuous — the alluring art of Jean Arp
Boundary-Breaking Sculptors of the 20th Century: Jean (Hans) Arp
5 Famous Artworks by Jean Arp That Will Blow Your Mind
20 Top Vibrant Artworks By Jean Arp
See Arp's works at the Guggenheim, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Christie's, and Sotheby's. Click on an artwork to learn more about it.
Prior to his work with Surrealism, Jean Arp was one of the founders of Dadaism. Take a look at the Dada LibGuide page to learn more about Arp's Dadaist works.
Biographies of Salvador Dalí:
Salvador Dalí - Britannica Schools
Salvador Dalí - Google Arts & Culture
Who is Salvador Dalí? - TATE Kids
Salvador Dalí(Spanish, –1989) - Artnet
20 Surreal Facts About Salvador Dalí
Facts About Salvador Dalí – Learn More About the Surrealist
Salvador Dali - Cutter & Cutter Fine Art
This extremely detailed biography elaborates on other aspects of Dali's artistic works outside of painting and use of symbolism. Also included are links to short introductory videos and a collection of his artwork.
Salvador Dalí – The Archetypal Surrealist - Art in Context
As well as a biography, this article discusses the artist's art style and artworks.
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to: a full biography; important artworks; and additional resources, including articles, videos, websites, and more.
Salvador Dalí was a prolific artist, producing artworks from the 1920s through to the 1950s and beyond. The following resources take a more detailed look at some of his works. One of the most well known of these is The Persistence of Memory which uses the melting clock motif. Discover more about this artwork in the separate information box.
Six Works by Salvador Dalí Now on View at the Chicago Art Institute
Salvador Dali Paintings – His 59 Most Valuable, Important Works
Anatomy of an Artwork: Salvador Dalí's 'L'Àngelus' [slideshow]
“The Burning Giraffe” by Salvador Dalí – A Giraffe Painting Study
“Lobster Telephone” by Salvador Dalí – A Detailed Analysis
Dali, Metamorphosis of Narcissus [video, 4:08]
“Swans Reflecting Elephants” by Salvador Dalí – An Analysis
“Christ of Saint John of the Cross” by Salvador Dalí – An Analysis
“The Hallucinogenic Toreador” by Salvador Dalí – A Surreal Vision
See Dalí's works at Dali Paintings, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, and The TATE. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Max Ernst:
Max Ernst - Britannica Schools
Max Ernst (German, –1976) - Artnet
Max Ernst / Maximilian Maria Ernst - Widewalls
10 things to know about Max Ernst, pioneer of the Dada movement and Surrealism
Max Ernst – An Artistic Biography and Portrait of Max Ernst
This detailed biography also discusses Ernst's artistic style and legacy, exhibitions, and notable artworks.
Max Ernst: German Painter and Sculptor - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to a full biography, important artworks, and additional resources, including books, articles, video-clips and more.
One of the founding members of the Surrealist art movement, Max Ernst often conveyed dream imagery in his works, both developing and utilising new techniques. Investigate the separate information box to discover more about these artistic techniques. The following resources look at Ernst's artistic style and works in more detail.
Max Ernst Paintings – The 10 Most Notable Works of Art
15 Most Famous Max Ernst Paintings
MoMA’s Tiniest Drawing: A Max Ernst Microbe
Taking Flight: Max Ernst Birds on the Wire [slideshow; accompanying article: Max Ernst: The Bird, The Cage & The Forest]
“The Elephant Celebes” by Max Ernst – An In-Depth Analysis
“Two Children are Threatened by a Nightingale” by Max Ernst – Art
Claudia Einecke on Max Ernst's "Tree of Life" on View at the High Museum [video, 2:24]
Max Ernst, Forest and Sun (Nocturnal Landscape), 1928 [video, 3:32]
Fireside Angel - Utopia/Dystopia
“Europe After the Rain II” by Max Ernst – A Surreal Masterpiece
Max Ernst “My work is like my Behaviour" mini-documentary [video, 8:04; discusses 3 of Ernst's Surrealist works: Solitary and Conjugal Trees (1940); Thirty-three Little Girls set out for the White Butterfly Hunt (1958); Flower-Shell (1927)]
See Ernst's works at The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Christie's, and Max Ernst Paintings. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Frida Kahlo:
Frida Kahlo - Britannica Schools
Frida Kahlo - Google Arts & Culture
Frida Kahlo (Mexican, 1907–1954) - Artnet
Frida Kahlo Mexican, 1907–1954 - MoMA
10 Interesting Frida Kahlo Facts That May Surprise You
Frida Kahlo Facts – All Important Facts About Frida Kahlo
Frida Kahlo: The woman behind the legend - Iseult Gillespie [video, 4:06]
Frida Kahlo – Mother of Mexican Magical Realism - Art in Context
Frida Kahlo: Mexican Painter - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and her accomplishments. This page also includes links to a full biography, artistic legacy, important artworks, and additional resources, including websites, articles, video-clips, and more.
Although Frida Kahlo did not identify herself as an official part of the Surrealism movement, many of her paintings contain Surrealist themes and images. Perhaps the most iconic aspect of Kahlo's works is her tendency for self-portraiture. The following resources take a closer look at some of her artworks.
Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera's Poetic Wedding Portrait , 1931 [includes video, 3:58]
“Roots (Raíces)” by Frida Kahlo – A Study in Symbolism
“The Two Fridas” by Frida Kahlo – Double Self-Portrait Analysis
The Revelations of Frida Kahlo’s Self Portraiture [video, 4:54; discusses Diego y yo (1949)]
“Self-Portrait with Thorn Necklace and Hummingbird” – Frida Kahlo
The Importance of the Frida Kahlo Self-Portrait With Thorn Necklace and Hummingbird
“Self-Portrait With Cropped Hair” by Frida Kahlo – An Analysis
Raissa Bretaña on Frida Kahlo’s Self-Portrait with Cropped Hair [video, 3:42]
“Without Hope” by Frida Kahlo – Without Hope Painting Analysis
See Kahlo's works at the Obelisk Art History and Frida Kahlo Paintings. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of René Magritte:
René Magritte - Britannica Schools
Who is René Magritte? - TATE Kids
René Magritte (Belgian, 1898-1967) - Artnet
10 things to know about René Magritte
René Magritte – Belgium’s Witty Reality-Defying Surrealist
René Magritte: Belgian Painter - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to: a full biography; important artworks; and additional resources, including articles, video-clips, websites, and more.
René Magritte painted in a more illustrative style than many of his Surrealist contemporaries, and often used the same themes and motifs within his work such as repetition, blue cloud-filled skies, and bowler hats, amongst others. The following articles show examples of Magritte's artworks, and discuss the artist's style and works in more detail. Magritte constructed a series of works between 1939 and 1967 under the title L’Empire des lumières (The Empire of Light); learn more about this series in the separate information box.
“L’Imprudent” and René Magritte’s Use of Doubles and Doppelgängers
René Magritte Paintings – Discover His Best 8 Works of Art
6 of René Magritte’s Most Famous Paintings That Capture the Surrealist’s Fascinating Mind
Happy Birthday, Rene Magritte! [brief descriptions of 10 artworks]
René Magritte, Master of the Surreal [slideshow, 8 images]
‘Magritte: The Treachery of Images’ at Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt [slideshow, 12 images]
“Les Amants” by René Magritte – Discover “The Lovers” Painting
“The Treachery of Images” by René Magritte – An Analysis
René Magritte, Man Ray and the Surrealist Portrait of the Poet Edward James [Le Principe du plaisir / The Pleasure Principle (1937); video, 3:02]
“Time Transfixed” by René Magritte – An In-Depth Painting Analysis
“Golconda” by René Magritte – The “Golconda” Painting Analysis
“The Son of Man” Magritte – An Analysis of the Famous Apple Painting
A Patch of Blue: René Magritte’s 'Galatée'
Revealed and obscured — Le lieu commun by René Magritte
René Magritte's 'Le Temps Jadis', a Study of a Poetic and Enigmatic World
See Magritte's works at Obelisk Art History and Rene Magritte Paintings. Click on an artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Joan Miró:
Joan Miró - Britannica Schools
An Introduction to Joan Miró - Artnet
Joan Miró (1893-1983) - Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Joan Miró – Exploring the Life and Art of This Barcelona Surrealist
As well as a biography, this article details the artistic characteristics of the artist's style and works.
Joan Miró: Spanish Painter and Printmaker - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to: a full biography; artistic legagy; important artworks; and additional resources, including articles, video-clips, and more.
Joan Miró experimented with a variety of media throughout his artistic career and many of his works are characterised by the techniques of automatism and biomorphism, as well as a bright but limited range of colours. Explore the interactive exhibition "Joan Miró: Black and Red Series" to find out more about the artist's creative process, techniques, and contexts of his works.The following articles look at some of Miró's works in more detail.
7 Joan Miró Artworks That Are Abstract Visualizations of What Was Inside His Mind
Joan Miró at Galerie Gmurzynska, Zurich [slideshow, 8 images]
Miró as Sculptor [video, 2:23]
“La Masia” by Joan Miró – A Rural Inspiration
“Catalan Landscape” by Joan Miró – The Colors of Catalonia
The Lyrical Language of Joan Miró’s Dream Paintings [(Peinture (Femme au chapeau rouge), 1927), video, 2:59]
Joan Miró Captures Anger and Anxiety in a Revolutionary Figure [Figure, 1934; video, 3:07]
Anne Umland on Joan Miro’s Self-Portrait I [video, 3:52]
Finding the Freedom of the Sky in Miró's 'Peinture (L’Air)'
Joan Miró’s Powerful Coda to his Constellation Series [Femme, Étoiles (1945); video, 4:02]
Joan Miró’s Imagination Takes Flight [Oiseau, 1968 (sculpture); video, 2:48]
Joan Miró’s Triumph of Abstraction [Femme Oiseau, 1969; video, 2:44]
See Miró's works at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim, TATE, and the Obelisk Art History.
13 Artists Children Should Know by
This heavily illustrated book featuring the world's greatest painters is an excellent introduction for young readers to artists and their works. Whether it's Leonardo da Vinci's mysterious Mona Lisa, Vermeer's vibrant depictions of light, Van Gogh's mesmerizing brush strokes, or Matisse's playful cutouts, the art featured here is introduced in a format and style that will appeal to children. The book proceeds chronologically, accompanied by a timeline to offer helpful historical context. Each artist's entry includes a concise biography, beautiful reproductions of major works, and lively texts that speak directly to young readers. Games, quizzes and other activities help readers learn about the significant contributions of each artist in a way that is both fun and inspiring. Additional information about museums, suggestions for further reading, and online resources will satisfy the most curious minds.
The People Awards by
A celebration of 50 famous people from around the world who made history and changed the world for the better.
Miro by
Joan Miro, one of Spain's most important 20th-century artists, is perhaps best known for his brightly hued, lyrical paintings of playful, often fantastic shapes.
Surrealism for Kids by
An introduction to Surrealism through a series of activities based on word and image games once played the surrealists. Also includes nine brief artist biographies
A History of 20th-Century Art by
Here is a fresh, exhilarating approach to the history of twentieth-century art. Rejecting the year-by-year sequential approach of conventional accounts, author Bernard Blistene tackles the subject thematically, using key works as a springboard to understanding the ideas and techniques of the major artists of the century. The book encompasses the visual arts in the broadest sense of the term. In addition to painting, sculpture and the new art forms of the postwar era, it covers architecture, photography, industrial design and video. Each chapter treats a different theme-- from Fauvism to film, Dada to design-- providing: * a general overview of the movement or period in question* numerous illustrations of particular works, each accompanied by brief explanatory texts* chronologies detailing important events within and around the world of art* bibliographies and suggested museum visits for each movement. With over 500 illustrations, "A History of 20th-Century Art provides a lucid and compelling introduction to artistic creation in the last century.
Surrealismus by
Dreamlike, fantastic imagery With Salvador Dalí at its mast, the great ship of Surrealism launched off into the wild and turbulent sea of the Roaring Twenties, its sails puffed full of winds blown by Sigmund Freud and André Breton. With dreamlike, fantastic imagery, the Surrealists made great, sensational waves in the art world. The influence of artists such as Dalí, Ernst, and Magritte, on 20th century film, theatre, literature, and thought is inestimable. Featured artists include: Hans Arp, Brassaï, Giorgio de Chirico, Salvador Dalí, Max Ernst, Alberto Giacometti, Paul Klee, René Magritte, André Masson,, Matta, Joan Miró, Pablo Picasso, Meret Oppenheim, and Yves Tanguy About the Series: Each book in TASCHEN's Basic Genre Series features: a detailed illustrated introduction plus a timeline of the most important political, cultural and social events that took place during that period a selection of the most important works of the epoch, each of which is presented on a 2-page spread with a full-page image and with an interpretation of the respective work, plus a portrait and brief biography of the artist approximately 100 colour illustrations with explanatory captions
Dalí Pop-Ups by
Produced in association with the Dalí estate this book brings some of the most celebrated paintings of Salvador Dalí to spectacular three-dimensional life, providing new layers of appreciation of the surreal genius of the artist. Decades after his death, Dalí's trademark moustache and dandy outfits remain instantly recognizable, while his art has inspired and continues to inspire new generations of artists, from Andy Warhol to Damien Hirst. Enigmatic, playful, deceptive, outrageous, and--above all--adventurous, Salvador Dalí will be remembered as one of the most important artists of the twentieth century.
Modern Art by
An introduction to modern art which covers most developments in the visual arts in the last hundred years. The texts written by art historians are up-to-date in approach and are supplemented by chronologies and bibliographies. Includes a gallery of 20th century art with an informed survey of the period.
Surrealism by
Surrealism was one of the most interesting and influential art movements of the twentieth century. A collective adventure begun by a small group of intellectuals in Paris in the early 1920s, among them Max Ernst, René Magritte and Salvador Dalí, its influence was felt through the rest of continental Europe and in Britain, the Americas, Mexico and Japan. This introduction offers new insights into the complexities of the Surrealist imagination. It documents how the artists met, the relationship of Surrealism to Dada, and the influences that formed the movement, particularly the work of Sigmund Freud. The position of women, as Surrealist subject-matter as well as artists in their own right, and Surrealism in the cinema and theater are all examined. There is close analysis of individual works, many of them from the Tate Gallery collection.
Frida Kahlo by
Briefly describes Kahlo's life and career, shows fifteen of her major works, and includes comments on their composition
Magritte by
The works of Rene Magritte (1898 - 1967) and the ideas that underlie them are a special case both in the history of modern art and in surrealist painting. In this book, Jacques Meuris traces Magritte's artistic development from its beginnings until the end of his life, and in doing so underlines the originality of this great Belgian Surrealist.
Artspoke by
Now that ArtSpeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements and Buzzwords has demystified post-war art, ArtSpoke is intented to clarify international art terms from Realism through Surrealism.
50 Art Ideas You Really Need to Know by The Surrealism art movement focused on the creation of art without conscious thought and was highly experimental. With this unconscious creativity in mind, Surrealist artists developed and used a variety of techniques and processes in their works. These resources explore such techniques as automatism, grattage, biomorphism, collage, and more.
Surrealist Techniques - Britannica Schools
10 Surrealism Techniques in Art (with Examples)
Surrealist Techniques: Collage - Khan Academy
Automatism: "creating art without conscious thought, accessing material from the unconscious mind as part of the creative proces"
Automatism - Britannica Schools
Automatism - National Galleries Scotland
What Is Automatism Art? – The History of Surrealism Automatism
Surrealist Techniques: Automatism - Khan Academy
Automatism in Art - Encyclopedia of Art Education
Automatic Drawing: "drawing while allowing the hand to move freely and randomly across the paper"
Automatic Drawing - Surrealism Today
Automatic Drawing – Exploring the Art of the Subconscious
Exquisite Corpse: "collaborative drawing and writing game"
Exquisite Corpse - Britannica Schools
Cadavre exquis (exquisite corpse) - TATE
Exquisite Corpse - Surrealism Today
How to See an Exquisite Corpse [video, 14:48]
Grattage: "scraping or scratching the surface of a painting to reveal underlying layers of color and texture"
Grattage - National Galleries Scotland
Frottage: "paper on a rough surface is rubbed with a pencil or other drawing tool to obtain an impression of the surface"
What Is Frottage in Art? – Famous Frottage Art Examples
Decalcomania: "transferring patterns or designs from one surface to another"
Decalcomania - Surrealism Today
Decalcomania - National Galleries Scotland
Biomorphism: "the use of organic shapes and forms in art"
Biomorphism - Surrealism Today
Art Movement: Biomorphism - The Art Story