These articles explain the origins and history of Impressionism, as well as explaining the defining characteristics of the movement.
Impressionism: Art and Modernity
How Impressionism Changed the Art World and Continues to Inspire Us Today
How This One Painting Sparked the Impressionist Movement (Claude Monet's Impression Sunrise)
Impressionism Reexamined: How One of Art History's Most Controversial Movements Finally Got Respect
Significant artists and artworks of the Impressionist movement.
6 Important Impressionist Painters Who Shaped the Iconic Movement
Includes: Claude Monet; Édouard Manet; Pierre-Auguste Renoir ; Edgar Degas; Mary Cassatt; Berthe Morisot
9 Famous French Painters You Should Know
Includes impressionists: Claude Monet; Edgar Degas; Édouard Manet; Auguste Renoir
Impressionist Painters – 12 Famous Masters of Impressionism
Impressionist Paintings – A Look at the Best Impressionism Artworks
9 Sun-Dappled Impressionist Paintings to Get You in the Summer Spirit
Claude Monet has been referred to as the 'impetus for Impressionism', with his artistic investigations into colour and light proving the cornerstone of the movement. Take a closer look at some of Monet's works, including what is considered to be the first example of an Impressionist painting - Impression, Sunrise.
“Garden at Sainte-Adresse” by Claude Monet – The Masterpiece
“Impression, Sunrise” Claude Monet – Its Historical Significance
How This One Painting Sparked the Impressionist Movement
“Wild Poppies Near Argenteuil” by Claude Monet – An Analysis
“Woman with a Parasol” Claude Monet – A Detailed Analysis
The Artist’s Family in the Garden (1875) - Art in Context [Famous Tree Paintings]
“Gare St Lazare” by Claude Monet – Train Station Painting Analysis
“Bordighera” by Claude Monet – An Italian Coastal Dream
An Orchard in Spring (1886) - Art in Context [Famous Spring Paintings]
“Haystacks” by Claude Monet – Monet’s Grainstacks at Giverny Paintings
Claude Monet “Water Lilies” – Impressions of Monet’s Water Lily Art
The Story and Inspiration Behind Claude Monet's Iconic 'Water Lilies' Series
Walk Through Claud Monet's Garden, the Most Famous in All of France [Infographic]
Exploring Late Monet with Art Historian Kathryn Calley Galitz
Biographies of Eugène Boudin:
Eugène Boudin - Google Arts and Culture
See Boudin's works in The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Edgar Degas:
Edgar Degas - Britannica Schools
Edgar Degas - Google Arts and Culture
Edgar Degas (1834-1917): Painting and Drawing - Metropolitan Museum of Art
Edgar Degas – Exploring the Life and Art of this French Painter - Art in Context
Edgar Degas: French Painter, Sculptor, and Printmaker (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also contains links to a full biography, important artworks, the progression of his art, and additional resources.
Edgar Degas is the visual artist most closely associated with the ballet, depicting dancers in both paintings and sculpture. The following resources focus on Degas' artworks and inspirations:
The Life and Art of Edgar Degas
Edgar Degas (1813-1917): Bronze Sculpture
Degas' Dancers: How Ballerinas Inspired the Iconic Impressionist Artist
The Ballet (includes links to specific artworks)
In this short video (5 minutes) The Met's costume conservator Glenn Peterson discusses the history of Degas's famous sculpture The Little Fourteen-Year-Old Dancer and the decisions made in the conservation of its tutu.
“The Dance Class” Edgar Degas – Analyzing the “Dance Class” Painting
“Place de la Concorde” by Edgar Degas – An Artwork Analysis
See Degas's works in The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Édouard Manet:
Édouard Manet - Britannica Schools
Édouard Manet - Britannica (extended biography)
Édouard Manet - Google Arts and Culture
Édouard Manet (1832-1883) - Metropolitan Museum of Art
Who Was Édouard Manet? Get to Know the Legendary Artist [Infographic]
Interesting facts and important dates in the Manet's life in a quick and easy-to-understand infographic.
Édouard Manet: French Draftsman and Painter (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to a full biography, his artistic legacy, important artworks, and additional resources, including websites, articles, and video-clips.
The following articles examine some of Manet's most famous artworks, and discuss some of them in greater detail.
Édouard Manet is Considered the Father of Modernism. Here Are His Most Famous Works
Édouard Manet – The Godfather of Modernism - Art in Context
Le Déjeuner sur l’herbe – Looking at Manet’s “Luncheon on the Grass”
The Significance of Manet's Large-Scale Masterpiece 'The Luncheon on The Grass'
“Olympia” Manet – An Analysis of Édouard Manet’s Olympia Painting
How Scandal Helped Shape Édouard Manet's 'Olympia' into a Modern Masterpiece
“A Bar at the Folies-Bergère” by Édouard Manet – A Look
Exploring the Meaning Behind Édouard Manet's Painting 'A Bar at the Folies-Bergère'
“The Absinthe Drinker” by Édouard Manet – Social Isolation in Art
See Manet's works in The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Claude Monet:
Claude Monet - Google Arts and Culture
Claude Monet (1840-1926) - Metropolitan Museum of Art
Monet's Magical Nuances: How the Impressionist Became a Worldwide Star
Claude Monet – The Impetus for Impressionism - Art in Context
Claude Monet: French Painter (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to a full biography, his artistic legacy, important artworks, and additional resources, including websites, articles, videos, and more. The three suggested websites all provide a wealth of information about Monet (Claude Monet Foundation; Giverny tourism), and his artworks.
Claud Monet was considered the leader of Impressionism as an artistic movement. The following resources give an overview of some of Monet's more well-known works. Check out the 'More of Monet' information box to investigate Monet's inspirations, the evolution of his painting style, and his artworks in more detail.
Claude Monet Paintings – A Look at 15 of Monet’s Greatest Works
Famous Monet Paintings – 15 Artworks That Shaped Impressionism
Seascape Paintings by Claude Monet – 11 Maritime Masterpieces
The Most Famous Claude Monet Paintings Everybody Adores
10+ Awe-Inspiring Impressionist Masterpieces Painted by Claude Monet
See Monet's works in The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Auguste Renoir:
Pierre-Auguste Renoir - Britannica Schools
Pierre-Auguste Renoir - Britannica (extended biography, including his later rejection of impressionistic styles)
Pierre-Auguste Renoir - Google Arts and Culture
Auguste Renoir (1841 - 1919) - Metropolitan Museum of Art
How Renoir Became a Leading Impressionist and Created an Enduring Style of his Own - ARTnews
Pierre-Auguste Renoir – Artwork and Bio of the French Painter - Artlex
Pierre-Auguste Renoir: French Draftsman and Painter (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to a full biography, his artistic legacy, important artworks, and additional resources, including websites, articles, video-clips, and more.
The following resources look at some of Renoir's most famous paintings.
5 of Renoir's Most Famous Paintings That Any Impressionism Lover Should Know
Spring Bouquet (1866) - Art in Context [Famous Spring Paintings]
La Grenouillère (1869) - Art in Context [Famous Tree Paintings]
Dance at Le moulin de la Galette (1876) - Art in Context [Famous French Painters]
The Story Behind Renoir's 'Bal du moulin de la Galette'
“A Girl with a Watering Can” by Pierre-Auguste Renoir – An Analysis
“The Umbrellas” by Pierre-Auguste Renoir – A Visual Analysis
“Two Sisters (On the Terrace)” by Pierre-Auguste Renoir – A Look
The Story Behind Renoir's Impressionist Masterpiece 'Luncheon of the Boating Party'
“Dance at Bougival” by Pierre-Auguste Renoir – A Jovial Artwork
“Dance in the Country” by Pierre-August Renoir – In-Depth Analysis
See Renoir's works in the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Alfred Sisley:
Alfred Sisley - Britannica Schools
Alfred Sisley - Google Arts and Culture
Alfred Sisley(French, –1899) - Artnet
Alfred Sisley (1839 – 1899) - Art in Context [Impressionist Painters]
Alfred Sisley: British Painter (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to a full biography, his artistic legacy, important artworks, and additional resources.
Alfred Sisley primarily painted landscapes and was a strong proponent for painting 'en plein air' (to learn more about this method, check out the separate information box). The following resources take a closer look at some of Sisley's works.
Top 10 Alfred Sisley Paintings
Alfred Sisley's Most Famous Paintings
Alfred Sisley At Musée d'Orsay: His Five Best Works
Fog, Voisins (1874) - Art in Context [Impressionist Paintings]
The Small Meadows in Spring (1881) - Art in Context [Famous Spring Paintings]
See Sisley's works at the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Artnet. Click on each artwork to discover more about it
Check the non-fiction section at 759 for resources about painters and their artworks.
Impressionism: 13 Artists Children Should Know by
In this beautifully produced volume, young readers are given the opportunity to study masterpieces of Impressionist work in great detail. From Monet's Impression, Sunrise, which is attributed to starting the movement, to Seurat's pointillist masterpiece, A Sunday on La Grande Jatte, each painting is reproduced on its own page with descriptive texts, biographical details of the artist, and entertaining facts. Along the way readers will learn the historic context of these paintings as well as a variety of artistic terms. The book also offers ideas that will help young readers appreciate why the Impressionist style was at once revolutionary and timeless.
World Art: The Essential Illustrated History by
This book offers the perfect introduction to art and its appreciation, with more than 350 color illustrations of works by popular and important artists from all over the world.
20th Century Art: 1900-10 New Ways of Seeing by
This series of books examines the work of famous artists throughout the 20th century. It covers the lives and works of artists from the turn of the century, putting them in their social and cultural context and discusses the influences of the period.
The Usborne Book of Famous Artists by
This is a beautifully presented introduction to the lives and works of 35 of the world's best-known artists. This title is illustrated with fabulous reproductions of the artists' works. It includes photographs of the artists at work, their personal belongings, homes and places that were important to them. It also illustrates timelines that provide the key dates in each artist's life.
Monet: The essential visual guide to his life and art, and to the influences that shaped his work. by
This introduction to Monet's life and art includes an analysis of his influence on other artists of the Impressionist movement.
Renoir: 1841-1919 by
A biography of the French painter and sculptor whose works seem full of joy, not only because of their subject matter, but because of the artist's use of light and color.
The term 'en plein air' refers to landscape paintings done in the 'open air' (outside) rather than in a studio. This popularity of this open air painting style increased with the introduction of Impressionism.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art exhibition Impressionism, Fashion, and Modernity presented a revealing look at the role of fashion in the works of the Impressionists and other artists of the time. It showcased figure paintings with period costumes, accessories, photographs and prints to highlight the relationship between fashion and art. This page gives an overview of the exhibition and includes background information, selected highlights and contents of each gallery.