These resources explain the origins and history of Post-Impressionism, with a focus on the approaches, styles and defining characteristics of and within this movement.
Post-Impressionism - Sotheby's
This includes an overview, timeline and history, artist profiles, and links to stories and videos about post-impressionism and its associated artists.
Exploring the Vision and Diverse Styles of Post-Impressionism Pioneers
The Post-Impressionists Series: The Origins of Post-Impressionism [video, 52 minutes]
Significant artists and artworks of the Post-Impressionist movement.
What is Post-Impressionist Art?
Post-Impressionism - Artyfactory
A Guide to Post-Impressionism: 10 Artists That Defined the Movement
Includes: Paul Cézanne; Henri Edmond-Cross; Paul Gauguin; Henri Rousseau; Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec; Odilon Redon; Georges Seurat; Vincent van Gogh; Maximilien Luce; Paul Signac
Top 6 Most Famous Post-Impressionist Artists
Includes: Vincent van Gogh; Paul Cézanne; Georges Seurat; Paul Gauguin; Paul Signac; Henri Rousseau
The Incredible Post-Impressionist Artists
9 Famous French Painters You Should Know
Includes: Auguste Renoir; Camille Pissarro; Henri Rousseau; Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec; Paul Gauguinn; Paul Cézanne
Vincent van Gogh is one of the most significant figures in art history. His life and artistic style make him one of the most popular and recognisable artists of the Post-Impressionist movement, and his artistic influence can be identified in many other modernist art movements.
Use the following resources to learn more about van Gogh as an artist, his career, and inspirations.
Discover the Life and Work of Vincent Van Gogh - Van Gogh Museum
Why Did Van Gogh Cut Off His Ear? – The Van Gogh Ear Story
Did Van Gogh Kill Himself? – The Mysterious End of the Artist
Van Gogh: How the Post-Impressionist's Work Evolved During His Short Life
Van Gogh Art Style – A Look at His Artistic Expressions
Van Gogh’s Role in the Symbolist Art Movement
How Many Paintings Did Van Gogh Sell? – A Struggling Artist
Vincent van Gogh and Paul Gauguin’s Friendship – A Collaboration
Vincent van Gogh Sunflowers – Admiring Van Gogh’s Flower Paintings
How Van Gogh's Love of Painting Sunflowers Blossomed During His Short Career
5 Real-Life Locations That Inspired Vincent van Gogh's Paintings
Vincent van Gogh was a profilic artist throughout his career although he experienced little to no commercial success during his lifetime. Many of his most well-known works today were produced within the final few years of his life. Use the following resources to look at some of his artworks in more depth.
“Lying Cow” by Vincent van Gogh – A Painting Analysis
“The Potato Eaters” Van Gogh – Analyzing “The Potato Eaters” Painting
“Still Life of Shoes” by Vincent van Gogh – A Unique Perspective
Van Gogh Skeleton Smoking – An Enlightening Look at the Van Gogh Skull [Skull of a Skeleton with Burning Cigarette (1886)]
“Café Terrace at Night” Van Gogh – “”Coffeehouse, in the Evening”
“The Bedroom in Arles” Van Gogh – 3 Studies of One Interior
“The Red Vineyard” by Vincent van Gogh – An Analysis
“Starry Night Over the Rhône” – Van Gogh’s Star-Filled Painting
The Fascinating Story Behind the Painting That Led to Van Gogh's 'Starry Night'
“Wheat Field with Cypresses” by Vincent van Gogh – A Quick Look
“Starry Night” van Gogh – In-Depth Analysis and Facts
How Van Gogh's 'The Starry Night' Came to Be and Continues to Inspire Artists
Van Gogh Self-Portrait Thought to Be a Fake for Decades Is Now Confirmed as Real
“The Olive Trees” by Vincent van Gogh – “The Olive Trees” Analysis
“Irises” by Vincent van Gogh – Studying the Famed “Irises” Painting
Van Gogh: Irises and Roses - Exhibition Overview
‘Almond Blossom’ van Gogh – Analyzing van Gogh’s Blossom Tree Painting
“First Steps, after Millet” by Vincent van Gogh – An Analysis
Biographies of Georges Seurat:
Georges Seurat - Google Arts and Culture
Georges Seurat – A Look at Georges Seurat the Artist - Art in Context
Georges Seurat: French Draftsman and Painter (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to a full biography, his artistic legacy, important artworks, and additional resources, including websites, articles, video-clips, and more.
Georges Seurat (1859-1891) and Neo-Impressionism
Considered part of Post-Impressionism, Georges Seurat started a movement called Neo-Impressionism in which his particular painting styles and theories dominated.
The following resources - many of which were created to support the Metropolitan Museum of Art's exhibition of Seurat's circus-themed artwork - discuss some of Seurat's most famous paintings and the inspiration behind them.
A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte – An Analysis
“The Eiffel Tower” by Georges Seurat – Strokes of Brilliance
The Life of the Party: Seurat Dazzles at the Met
Following the Trail of (Ginger)bread Crumbs : Seurat, the Corvi Circus, and the Gingerbread Fair
This page includes an exhibition overview, as well as links to the galleries and objects involved.
Circus Sideshow (Parade de cirque) by Georges Seurat [video]
A short (2 minutes) video showing the effect on the artwork of being viewed by gaslight rather than modern gallery lighting.
A video recording [54 minutes] of a talk presented in conjunction with the Metropolitan Museum of Art's 'Seurat's Circus Sideshow' exhibition.
See Seurat's works at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec:
Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec - Britannica
Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec - Google Arts and Culture
Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec (1864-1901) - Metropolitan Museum of Art
Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec (French, 1864-1901) - artnet
Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec – The Artist of Parisian Nightlife - Artland
Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec: French Painter (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to a full biography, his artistic legacy, important artworks, and additional resources, including websites, articles, and video-clips.
Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec was best known for his posters. The following resources look at aspects of Toulouse-Lautrec's life, career, and inspirations.
6 Fascinating Facts About Post-Impressionist Pioneer Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec
7 Things You Didn't Know About Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec
How Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec Took 19th-Century Paris by Storm - And Went Down in History
Late 19th-Century Paris Documented in Graphic Prints and Posters by Toulouse-Lautrec
See Toulouse-Lautrec's works in the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Paul Cézanne:
Paul Cézanne - Google Arts and Culture
Paul Cézanne (1839-1906) - Metropolitan Museum of Art
How Paul Cézanne Charted a New Path with His Boundary-Pushing Still Lifes and Landscapes
Paul Cézanne – An Artistic Biography of the Famous Post-Impressionist - Art in Context
Paul Cézanne: French Draftsman and Painter (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to a full biography, his artistic legacy, important artworks, and additional resources, including websites, articles, video-clips, and more.
Cézanne's is regarded as one of the most influential figures in modern art. The following resources focus on his contributions to the post-impressionism movement, artworks and inspirations (such as his home in Aix-en-Provence, and family - specifically, his wife).
Why Post-Impressionist Painter Paul Cézanne is Known as "The Father of Modern Art"
Ten Works by Cezanne Where There Is More Than Meets the Eye
La Douleur (Sorrow) (1868 – 1869) - Art in Context [Famous Sad Paintings]
“Still Life with Fruit Dish” by Paul Cézanne – An Artwork Analysis
“The Card Players” by Paul Cézanne – The Card Players Analysis
“The Basket of Apples” by Paul Cézanne – A Closer Look
Still Life with Apples (1895 – 1898) - Art in Context [Famous Fruit Paintings]
“Pyramid of Skulls” by Paul Cézanne – The Art of Death
“Mont Sainte-Victoire” by Paul Cézanne – An Analysis
Cézanne in Provence - Atelier Cézanne Museum
Madame Cézanne - Exhibition Overview
Interview with Dita Amory, Curator and Co-author of Madame Cézanne
See Cézanne's works in The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Paul Gauguin:
Paul Gauguin - Google Arts and Culture
Paul Gauguin (1848-1903) - Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Controversial Life and Art of Post-Impressionist Painter Paul Gauguin
Paul Gauguin – Influential Primitivist Post-Impressionist - Art in Context
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to a full biography, his artistic legacy, important artworks, and additional resources, including websites and articles.
Throughout his career Paul Gauguin experimented with a variety of media when constructing his artworks. He was well-travelled and his experiences were used as inspiration for his artistic vision.
10 Works By Gauguin You Should Know
7 Most Famous Paintings by Paul Gauguin
“The Yellow Christ” by Paul Gauguin – The Spiritual Power of Art
New Masterpiece of Paul Gauguin Discovered – Take a Look [Beautes a Tahiti – Source sur la mer]
Gauguin in New York Collections: The Lure of the Exotic
Paul Gauguin's Powerful Explorations in the Art of Portraiture
See Gauguin's works in The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Vincent Van Gogh:
Vincent Van Gogh - Google Arts and Culture
Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) - Metropolitan Museum of Art
Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890): The Drawings - Metropolitan Museum of Art
Tracing Van Gogh's Life Through 5 of His Most Significant Self-Portraits
Vincent van Gogh – The Art and Life of Painter Vincent Willem van Gogh - Art in Context
Vincent van Gogh: Dutch Draftsman and Painter (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to a full biography, his artistic legacy, important artworks, and additional resources, including websites, articles, videos, and more.
The following resources give an overview of van Gogh's artworks. Check out the 'Investigating van Gogh' information box to discover more about the artist - the development of his artistic style, career, and inspirations - and take an in-depth look at some of his artworks.
The Most Famous Van Gogh Paintings Everyone Should Know
10 Van Gogh Paintings You Should Know
Vincent van Gogh Paintings – The Best Works by the Great Painter
Vincent Van Gogh: The Drawings [slideshow; 10 images]
Most Expensive Van Gogh Painting – Rare Van Gogh Paintings
Van Gogh Self-Portrait – Some of Van Gogh’s Most Famous Self-Portraits
Where You Can See 10 of Van Gogh's Most Famous Paintings Around the World
See van Gogh's works in The Metropolitan Museum of Art and Vincent van Gogh Paintings. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Henri Rousseau:
Henri Rousseau - Google Arts and Culture
Henri Rousseau (French, 1844-1910) - Artnet
Henri Rousseau: French Painter (Overview and Artworks) - The Art Story
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments. This page also includes links to a full biography, his artistic legacy, important artworks, and additional resources, including websites, articles, video-clips, and more.
Henri Rousseau was a key figure in the Primitivism art movement, developing his own style as a self-taught artist. Although he never travelled outside France, he is most well-known for his paintings of jungle scenes. The following resources discuss his style and artworks.
How Henri Rousseau Became the Untrained Master of Surreal Jungle-Inspired Paintings
The Fantastic Jungles of Henri Rousseau
Henri Rousseau: Jungles of Paris (click the arrows to scroll through the slides)
See Rousseau's works in The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Biographies of Émile Bernard:
Émile Bernard - Google Arts and Culture
Émile Bernard (French, 1868-1941) - Artnet
Émile Bernard Biography - Sotheby's
An overview of the artist and his accomplishments, as well as important artworks and the progression of his art.
See Bernard's works in The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Click on each artwork to discover more about it.
Check the non-fiction section at 759 for resources about painters and their artworks.
World Art: The Essential Illustrated History by
This book offers the perfect introduction to art and its appreciation, with more than 350 colour illustrations of works by popular and important artists from all over the world
20th Century Art: 1900-10 New Ways of Seeing by
This series of books examines the work of famous artists throughout the 20th century. It covers the lives and works of artists from the turn of the century, putting them in their social and cultural context and discusses the influences of the period.
The Usborne Book of Famous Artists by
This is a beautifully presented introduction to the lives and works of 35 of the world's best-known artists. This title is illustrated with fabulous reproductions of the artists' works. It includes photographs of the artists at work, their personal belongings, homes and places that were important to them. It also illustrates timelines that provide the key dates in each artist's life.
Impressionism: 13 Artists Children Should Know by
In this beautifully produced volume, young readers are given the opportunity to study masterpieces of Impressionist work in great detail. From Monet's Impression, Sunrise, which is attributed to starting the movement, to Seurat's pointillist masterpiece, A Sunday on La Grande Jatte, each painting is reproduced on its own page with descriptive texts, biographical details of the artist, and entertaining facts. Along the way readers will learn the historic context of these paintings as well as a variety of artistic terms. The book also offers playful suggestions for creating Impressionist art at home or school as well as ideas that will help young readers appreciate why the Impressionist style was at once revolutionary and timeless. AGES: 8+ AUTHOR: Florian Heine is a freelance photographer, art historian, and author. He lives in Munich. He is the author of '13 Painters Children Should Know', '13 Art Inventions Children Should Know', and '13 Architects Children Should Know' (all by Prestel). 60 illustrations
Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec by
A description of the artist's life and work accompanies a collection of his paintings and drawings.
Toulouse-Lautrec by
Part of the 'History and Techniques of the Great Masters' series.
Cezanne by
Now Cezanne's superb technique and design can be examined closely with this book dedicated to the great master's works. Actual-size details allow for minute examination of paint techniques, while text provides full information about types of paint brushes, canvas and priming favored by the artist.
Famous Artists: Cezanne by
Examines the life of the renowned French painter and traces the development of his art.
Eyewitness Art: Gauguin by
One of a series introducing artists, artistic movements and aspects of art through the use of full-colour reproductions of art works, other illustrations and detailed captions. This volume presents the life, work and techniques of the French painter Paul Gauguin (1848-1903), well known for his work in Tahiti. Includes a list of key biographical dates, a glossary and an index.
Van Gogh by
Discusses the life, works, and lasting influence of Vincent van Gogh.
Van Gogh (1853-1890) by
A collection of paintings featuring great artists from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries presented in a convenient square format. Paintings of 16 artists are presented in this series that include most of their famous paintings.
Post-Impressionism encompasses a wide range of distinct artistic styles. Some of these include: Neo-Impressionism (or Pointillism); Japonism (or Japonisme); Primitivism (or Naive Art); Cloisonnism; Synthetism; Pont-Aven School; and Symbolism.
Learn more about these styles and the artists associated with them from the following resources.
A Guide to Post-Impressionism: 10 Artists That Defined The Movement
Exploring the Vision and Diverse Styles of Post-Impressionism Pioneers [includes: Pointillism; Japonisme; Primitivism]
Symbolist Art Movements: Post-Impressionism
Neo-Impressionism (Pointillism and Divisionism)
Associated with Georges Seurat.
Pointillism is the technique of applying small dots of colour which from a distance are perceived as a single whole image. Divisionism refers to the theory of colour separation and its optical effects.
Neo-Impressionism - Britannica
Neo-Impressionism - The Art Story
Neo-Impressionism – An Exploration of Neo-Impressionism Art - Art in Context
Pointillism – The Neo-Impressionist Dot Painting Technique - Art in Context
Pointillism Art Movement And Its Most Inspiring Artists - Widewalls
Pointillism: 7 Things You Need to Know
10 Most Famous Pointillism Artists
How the Pioneers of Pointillism Continue to Influence Artists Today
Pointillism Artists – A World Dotted With Artistic Beauty
Japonism (Japonisme)
Many post-impressionist artists were influenced by Japanese ukiyo-e woodblock prints, including Georges Seurat, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, Paul Cézanne, Paul Gauguin, and Vincent van Gogh.
Japonism - Metropolitan Museum of Art
Primitivism (Naïve Art)
Associated with Henri Rousseau and Paul Gauguin.
Naïve art as a style includes any form of visual art produced by a person with no formal artistic education or training. The term Primitivism is used when trained artists emulate the style.
Primitive Art – An Exploration of the Origins of Primitivism in Art - Art in Context
What is Naïve Art? - Google Arts and Culture
Naïve Art – Discover the Style of the Naïve Painting Art Form - Art in Context
Cloisonnism
Associated with Émile Bernard and Paul Gauguin.
This style is characterised by the use of large sections of bright colours separated or enclosed by definite and dark lines. This can produce a similar appearance to stained-glass windows.
Cloisonnism - Encyclopedia of Art History
Synthetism
Associated with Paul Gauguin and Émile Bernard.
Connected to Cloisonnism, Synthetism emphasised: the outward appearance of natural forms; the artists' feelings about his subject; and the purity of line, colour, and form. This focus results in primarily two-dimensional images.
Synthetism - Google Arts and Culture
Synthetism - Encyclopedia of Art History
Synthetism is a painting style that combines features of several directions
Pont-Aven School
Associated with Émile Bernard and Paul Gauguin.
This refers to the works of a group of artists studying under and influenced by Paul Gauguin in the town of Pont-Aven in Britanny (France).
The Pont-Aven School and Synthetism - Khan Academy [includes Synthetism, Cloisonnism, Primitivism]
Pont-Aven School - Encyclopedia of Art History
Symbolism
Associated with Paul Gauguin and Vincent van Gogh.
Symbolism is focused on dreams and imagination rather than the real world. It contradicts previous ideas of 'realism' and uses symbols to suggest ideas, feelings, and emotions.
Symbolism - National Galleries Scotland [includes video resource (5 minutes)]
From Van Gogh to Kandinsky: The Stars of Symbolism - in Pictures
