Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Communications: Home

Library databases

This site provides good discussion articles on a range of topics, but does have a UK focus.

Online resources

The Conversation
An Australian site that provides in-depth analysis, research news and ideas from leading academics and researchers.

The Guardian
An Australian site that provides the latest news, comment, reviews and sport.

The Drum
Provides analysis and opinion on issues that have been in the media.

The Saturday Paper
An Australian magazine that covers news, culture and analysis.

ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation)
Access news and current affairs articles.

Types of language used in the media

Analysing persuasive language (Lesson Bucket)
Provides an excellent description of the language devices used in the media.

Language in Conflict
Provides some good articles regarding language in the media.

Finding Creative Commons content

Creative Commons Search
Find Creative Commons content for use in your project using this site.

Finding Creative Commons material (Hutchins Guide)
Use this page to find out more about Creative Commons.

Useful Hutchins guides

Online videos

Browse the English folder in our ClickView library for useful videos, particularly the Media Studies subfolder.