Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TASC Business Studies: Home

TQA Documents

Business Studies TQA Course Documents

Access course documents, past exams here.

Books in Our Library

A selection of relevant books from our library. For more books, search the library catalogue

Welcome

 

Welcome to the Business Studies library subject guide.

Access class resources from the Hutchins Business Studies Sharepoint page

Australia Government and Services

Reserve Bank of Australia
Australia's central bank, conducts monetary policy, works to maintain a strong financial system and issues the nation's currency. This site also has excellent Chart Pack (Graphs on the Australian Economy and Financial Markets).

Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australia's official statistical organisation. Provides a high quality, objective, and responsive national statistical service.

Australian Government Budget
Sets out the fiscal and economic outlook for Australia, and includes expenditure and revenue estimates for the current financial year, the budget year, and three forward financial years.

Australian Taxation Office (ATO)
Manages and shapes tax, excise and superannuation systems that fund services for Australians. The ATO also manages and shapes the revenue systems that sustain social and economic policy and fund services for Australians.

Austrade
The Australian Trade Commission – Austrade – is the Australian Government’s trade, investment and education promotion agency.  It
aims to assist Australian businesses in entering overseas export markets, and boosts the national economy.

Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC)
Promotes competition and fair trade in the market place to benefit consumers, businesses and the community. It also regulates national infrastructure services. Its primary responsibility is to ensure that individuals and businesses comply with the Commonwealth competition, fair trading and consumer protection laws.

Fair Work Commission
Is the national workplace relations tribunal. It is an independent body with power to carry out a range of functions relating to the safety net of minimum wages and employment conditions; enterprise bargaining; industrial action; dispute resolution; termination of employment and other workplace matters.

AusIndustry
Is the Commonwealth Government's agency for delivering products, services and information that support industry, research and innovation.

Commonwealth Ombudsmen
Investigates complaints against an Australian Government department or agency.\

Productivity Commission
Is the Australian Government's independent research and advisory body on a range of economic, social and environmental issues affecting the welfare of Australians and helps governments develop better policies.

Other Useful Resources

The Australian Council of Trade Unions
The ACTU is the peak union body representing 46 affiliated unions and the interests of almost 2 million workers across Australia.

The Business Council of Australia
The BCA is an association of the CEOs of 100 of Australia’s leading corporations with a combined workforce of one million people. It was established in 1983 as a forum for Australia’s business leaders to contribute to public policy debates to build Australia as the best place in which to live, to learn, to work and do business.

Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
Supports Tasmanian businesses and liaises with government on behalf Tasmanian businesses.

WorkSafe Tasmania
Provides health and safety advice to businesses.

 

Newspapers, Magazines & Media

The Conversation
This Australian site provides analysis and opinion articles written by academics. It provides a good Business + Economy section.

The Drum (ABC)
Provides good analysis and opinion articles regarding current issues.

ABC Online
Access and search online versions and archives of ABC programs such as 4 Corners, Lateline, Foreign Correspondent etc. It also has a good business section.

The Age BusinessDay
Latest Business News, Financial and ASX Markets

The Australian Daily
National and International News with in-depth Business News and Political coverage

Libraries Tasmania (State Library of Tasmania)
Libraries Tasmania provides access to comprehensive databases of newspapers. You need to be a member of Libraries Tasmania to access these databases

Financial Review
An authority on business, finance and investment news in Australia,

HSC Online

Charles Sturt University (CSU) Guide for HSC Students
CSU's LibGuides page for Business Studies, containing links to a variety of business studies-related websites, as well as exam preparation and online study resources. 

Biz/ed

Business Studies Online
This UK site provides access to a range of interactive resources, theory notes and useful websites.

Tutor2u
Provides interactive quizzes to test your knowledge of key concepts.


 

Videos