Analysing the Russian Revolution by
Analysing the Russian Revolution 2nd Edition helps students to develop a broad and detailed understanding of the process of revolution, and to analyse and reflect upon the political, social and economic changes and continuities of the Russian Revolution. This full colour second edition now includes a range of new sources and up-to-date exam-style questions throughout the text to provide comprehensive exam preparation.
Russia, 1917-1939 by
GCSE Modern World History for Edexcel is designed to meet the needs of the 2009 Edexcel Modern World History specification. Written by senior examiners, the series has been developed to enable students to achieve the highest possible grades through: - outlining key lines of enquiry - full coverage of the content requirements of the specification - model answers, exam-style questions and exam tips to aid exam preparation - dedicated support with assessment - a variety of activities to motivate all students. About the book Endorsed by Edexcel, this new edition of The Russian Revolution and Soviet Union 1910-1991 has been fully revised to support the content and assessment requirements of the depth study 'Russia 1917-39' in Unit 2 of Edexcela s 2009 GCSE Modern World History specification. It has a skills-centred, source-based approach, making it ideal for students studying the course.
Reaction and Revolutions by
This second edition aims to provide both a narrative and an analysis of the background, course and effects of the 1917 revolution in Russia. Beginning with an examination of Tsardom, the text describes the growth of revolutionary movements, analyzes the failure of government to modernize Russia, and concludes with a study and assessment of the impact of Bolshevism between 1917 and 1924. The book also incorporates the evidence relating to the Russian Revolution that has come to light since the collapse of the USSR in the early 1990s. Features include study guides, exercises, advice on tackling differentiated exam questions, points to consider and key issues and dates. The text is designed for A/AS level students and undergraduates.
Access articles that provide you with an overview of your topic. Check the Web's Best for each article to find related web pages.
War and Revolution in Russia 1914 - 1921 (BBC)
Provides a detailed discussion of the Russian Revolution
The History Channel
Provides good information on various aspects of Russian history.
17 Moments in Soviet History
Watch short historical videos about the Soviet Union
Posters of the Russian Civil War, 1918 - 1922 (New York Public Library)
Browse this online repository of historical posters
Russia and Eastern Europe in Rare Photographs, 1860 - 1945 (New York Public Library)
Browse this large collection of photographs. Click on the image to view the title in English.
Communal Living in Russia: A Virtual Museum of Soviet Life
Access videos, audio clips, photographs and essays about communal living.
The Empire that was Russia
A large repository of photographs taken between 1909 and 1912, covering architecture, ethnic diversity, transportation and people at work.
Stalinka
This digital collection of photographs, posters, paintings, banners and images of sculptures and chinaware relating to Stalin.
Alexander Palace Time Machine
Access a large number of Imperial Russian documents and images.
This database provides access to the magazine, History Today, providing articles that cover all aspects of history, including Russian history. Try narrowing your search by Source Type so that only articles within this publication are retrieved.
