Access to Geography: Population
Population initially provides an up-to-date overview of demographic trends within the context of forecasting future needs in such areas as transport, education and energy resources. Then, after considering the reality of current global population change, the book provides a detailed commentary on: -Fertility and population control -Mortality and life expectancy -Population structure and age dependency -Population density and distribution and -Population migration.
An Introduction to Human Geography
Comprehensively revised, the fourth edition of this widely used text provides a global overview of the major topics within human geography, including resources, population, food security, the economy and development, geopolitics and territory, culture, society, cities, the environment and environmentalism, inequality, agriculture and rurality, the politics of place and globalisation, and global governance. Coherent and substantial chapters ensure balanced treatment across the range of contemporary human geography. Focusing on key geographical challenges facing the world in the early twenty-first century, stimulating coverage examines the diverse forces that shape economies and societies. All chapters are written by specialists in the field and offer original, critical and engaging perspectives.
The Conversation
An Australian site that provides analysis and opinion of current issues.
ABC Online
Access and search online versions and archives of ABC programs such as 4 Corners, Lateline, Foreign Correspondent etc.
Population Reference Bureau
Provides information about population, health, and the environment. Search the site for appropriate articles by conducting a keyword search.
The City Fix
Provides the latest information regarding urban sustainability around the world. Browse the Topics or use the Advanced Search options to narrow your search results.
Megacities and rural community development
Access a succinct list of the issues faced by megacities
eMagazine
Access a range of articles regarding urbanisation and megacities.
Department of Economic and Social Affairs (United Nations)
Conduct a keyword search to locate information regarding megacities and the problems they face.
A valuable source of information regarding the challenges faced by mega cities in developing countries.
World Urbanzation Prospects, the 2018 revision (United Nations)
Provides statistics related to urban growth around the world and related documents.
Datafinder (Population Reference Bureau)
Access a comprehensive range of international and national statistics covering topics such as the environment and demographics.
World Population Data Sheet (Population Reference Bureau)
Access charts that provide statistics, tends and projections for world population growth. View interactive maps to obtain data for particular countries.
The World Factbook
Provides maps and information on the people, economy, government, geography and other aspects for a large number of countries.
Land Use and Management (Australian Bureau of Statistics)
Access data concerning Australia's agricultural and water use, land degradation and sustainable agriculture here.
Australian Demographic Statistics (Australian Bureau of Statistics)
Provides access to statistics concerning Australia's population and demographics.
