Skip to Main Content

TASC Art Production and Art Studio Practice: Finding Images

This guide

Referencing

Don't forget, all images should be properly referenced. Check the Hutchins Academic Integrity guide for tools to help you with with this.

Online repositories of images

Arts and Culture Experiments
Showcases a range of projects experimenting with the intersection of art and technology

Artstor
Provides access to images from museums and other collecting institutions from around the world. Great for examples of sculpture, paintings, images and multimedia creations from a variety of cultures and historical time periods. Artstor Public Collection items are free to use for non-commercial (ie study) purposes.

Australian Prints + Printmaking (Centre for Australian Art)
Provides access to over 22 000 images of prints from Australia and the Asia Pacific.  The databases can be searched by artist, subject or print techniques.

DigitalNZ
‚ÄčA rich database of 3 million+ images, videos, audio, articles and other information from New Zealand. Many items have CC licences allowing reuse. 

Europeana
The most incredible collaborative portal giving access to more than 51 million items from museums, galleries, libraries and institutions across Europe.

Getty Search Gateway
This site enables searching across a range of Getty collections including the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, the Getty Foundation, and the Getty Research Institute. Try filtering your search by type.

Google Arts and Culture Institute 
Draws together artworks, articles, virtual tours and all sorts of interesting things from around the world. Lots of information about Art Movements. Allows you to create your own gallery of items.

Google Image search 
Use the Advanced Search options to narrow your search results.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art 
Online portal includes collection highlights, Open Access images, an interactive Timeline of Art History, reviews, exhibitions, and much much more.

MONA
Explore the surface of MONA's various collections and exhibitions through their website. A fine example of interactivity as part of the user/audience experience

Museum of Contemporary Art Australia
A strong collection of articles about contemporary artists, with photographs of works and exhibitions.

Trove (National Library of Australia)
This is an extensive database of Australian content and provides access to digitized photographs, negatives, artworks, drawings, posters, postcards and other pictures.

UQ Art Museum (University of Queensland)
Extensive collection of works and descriptions available online