Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TASC Art Production and Art Studio Practice: Home

This guide

Books in the Nettlefold Library

This is a small sample of the art books held in the Nettlefold Library. Browse the library catalogue for additional resources.

Academic Integrity

Academic Integrity guide
Access this Hutchins-created guide for assistance with referencing and other aspects of academic integrity

Referencing Guide
Information on referencing all forms of content

Art History

Smarthistory
Developed by the Khan Academy, this is a high quality open educational resource covering western and non-western art history. Videos are also available on Khanacademy.org and the Khan Academy app.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Maintained by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, this comprehensive database provides good timelines and discussion of key historical events and history from geographical areas.

Pinterest - Art History Apps & Web tools
Check here for a diverse range of web tools and apps for mobile devices.

History Channel 
Provides images, articles and videos that discuss the art of different civilisations through history. 

Museums and Art Galleries

Art Project 
A fantastic tool that enables the viewer to take a virtual tour of prominent art galleries around the world and view the artworks in detail.  Each piece of art is accompanied by notes

MONA (Museum of Old and New Art)
Presents antiquities, modern and contemporary art from the David Walsh collection.

Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery

National Gallery of Australia

Artists and themes

Design & Art Australia Online
Links biographical data about Australian artists, designers, craftspeople and curators with information about artworks, event histories and collection details.

MoMA Learning
Provides information on a range of artistic themes and artists

Starting your research

An encyclopaedia is a good place to start your research as you will retrieve articles that give you a broad overview of your topic and dictionaries help you define key terms.

Glossary of Art Terms (MoMA Learning)
A comprehensive glossary of art terms.

Magazine and Journal Articles

Print copies of Art Monthly Australasia are available for loan in the Nettlefold Library. Art & Australia may be accessed online.

A large number of art magazines are searchable from this database.

Videos