These are some of the titles available from the Nettlefold Library for your English Literature studies.
Explore the Library catalogue to find more.
Animal Farm and 1984 by
ANIMAL FARM George Orwell's classic satire of the Russian Revolution is an intimate part of our contemporary culture. It is the account of the bold struggle, initiated by the animals, that transforms Mr. Jones's Manor Farm into Animal Farm--a wholly democratic society built on the credo that All Animals Are Created Equal. Out of their cleverness, the pigs Napoleon, Squealer, and Snowball emerge as leaders of the new community in a subtle evolution that proves disastrous. The climax is the brutal betrayal of the faithful horse Boxer, when totalitarian rule is reestablished with the bloodstained postscript to the founding slogan: But some Animals Are More Equal Than Others. . . . 1984 In 1984, London is a grim city where Big Brother is always watching you and the Thought Police can practically read your mind. Winston is a man in grave danger for the simple reason that his memory still functions. Drawn into a forbidden love affair, Winston finds the courage to join a secret revolutionary organization called The Brotherhood, dedicated to the destruction of the Party. Together with his beloved Julia, he hazards his life in a deadly match against the powers that be.
Doing English by
Aimed at students in the final year of secondary education or beginning degrees, this text provides the ideal introduction to studying English literature. The book should: orientate you, by explaining what you are doing when you do English; equip you for future study, by introducing current ideas literature, context and interpretation; enable you to bridge the gap between traditional and theoretical approaches to literature, showing why English has had to change and what those changes mean for you.
The Tempest by
No Fear Shakespeare gives you the complete text of The Tempest on the left-hand page, side-by-side with an easy-to-understand translation on the right. Each No Fear Shakespeare contains The complete text of the original play A line-by-line translation that puts Shakespeare into everyday language A complete list of characters with descriptions Plenty of helpful commentary
The Tempest by
This new edition of The Tempest takes into account the work of the Shakespeare and Schools Project, the national curriculum for English, developments at GCSE and A-level, and the probable development of English and Drama throughout the 1990s. Cambridge School Shakespeare considers The Tempest as theatre and its text as script, enabling students to inhabit the imaginative world of the play in an accessible, meaningful and creative way. It approaches the play in a new way, encouraging students to participate actively in examining it, to work in groups as well as individually, to treat the play as a script to be re-created, and to explore the theatrical/dramatic qualities of the text. The editorial comments cater for students of all ages and abilities, providing clear, helpful guidelines for school study. The format is also designed to help both experienced and inexperienced teachers.
Searching for the Secret River by
Searching for the Secret River is the extraordinary story of how Kate Grenville came to write her award-winning novel, The Secret River. It all began with her ancestor Solomon Wiseman, a convict who later found fortune and settled on the Hawkesbury. Grenville pursued him from Sydney to London and back, and then up the Hawkesbury itself.
The Secret River by
In 1806 William Thornhill, an illiterate English bargeman and a man of quick temper but deep compassion, steals a load of wood and, as a part of his lenient sentence, is deported, along with his beloved wife, Sal, to the New South Wales colony in what would become Australia. The Secret River is the tale of William and Sal’s deep love for their small, exotic corner of the new world, and William’s gradual realization that if he wants to make a home for his family, he must forcibly take the land from the people who came before him. Acclaimed around the world, The Secret River is a magnificent, transporting work of historical fiction.
Browse the UTAS library catalogue to find suitable books. You need to be registered with the Step-up program to borrow items from UTAS.
Search this database to find commentary regarding literature, poetry and film.
An encyclopeida is one of the best places to start your research as it will provide you with a broad overview of your topic.
Use this encyclopaedia to find background information about your topic.
Jacket
Provides commentary on modern and contemporary poetry and poetics.
Poetry Foundation
Access this large database of poems. Also provide commentary about poems.
Poetry Library
Poetry resources.
General resources
Bibliomania
Access bibliographies and study guides covering over 2000 classic texts.
The Conversation
Search for articles written by academics on Australian and English literature and film.
The Guardian
Access reviews and commentary about literature and film.
Overland
A literary and cultural magazine that explores the relationship between politics and culture.
English literature
Discovering literature: Romantics and Victorians (The British Library)
Access information about authors and poets of these periods. Also provides commentary on their works and social context.
The Norton anthology of English literature
Provides an excellent overview of the defining moments of the periods from the the middle ages to the 20th century.
Australian literature
Australian Humanities Review
Provides a forum for open intellectual debate across humanities disciplines, about all aspects of social, cultural and political life.
Australian Book Review
Provides reviews, essays and commentaries on Australian literature.
Essays (Reading Australia)
Search for essays on a range of poetry and fiction books written by Australian authors.
Meanjin
Provides access to essays about Australian fiction and poetry.
Quadrant online
An Australian journal covering literature, poetry and historical and political debate.
Browsing these sections of the shelves will give you useful books for poetry and related areas that you might need to research the meaning of a poem or the historical events that occurred when a poem was written.
| Mythology and religion | 291 |
| Politics | 320 |
| Film | 770 |
| Writing poetry | 808 |
| American literature | 810 |
| American poetry | 811 |
| English literature | 820 |
| Australian poetry | 820 |
| English poetry | 821 |
| History | 900-999 |
The Nettlefold Library has some literature dictionaries available for loan. These are a good place to start your research. Browse the Library catalogue to find more.
Dictionary of Literary Terms by
York Handbooks form a companion series to York Notes and are designed to meet the wider needs of students of English and related fields. Each volume is a study of a given subject area, written by an authority with experience in communicating the essential ideas to students at all levels.
NTC's Dictionary of Literary Terms by
* 600 Terms, Concepts, and Critical Theories. Are all defined, explained, and illustrated in clear, easy-to-understand language. * Comprehensive. Providing students with all the literary and critical terms commonly encountered in the study of literature, from the basic to the complex and avante garde. * Numerous Examples. Allow students to clarify the terms and ideas in each entry. * Cross-References. Further help study by linking related terms and concepts and technical terms with their more common counterparts.
