Here you will find a range of books available in the Nettlefold Library to support teachers who are conducting action research. Browse the library catalogue for additional resources.
Research Design by
`It is a book that will stimulate the graduate student and provide a rich source of material for any teacher of research design' - Qualitative Research Journal The book that has helped more than 80,000 students and researchers prepare their plan or proposal for a scholarly journal article, dissertation or thesis has been revised and updated while maintaining all the features that made the First Edition so popular. New in the Second Edition: every chapter now shows how to implement a mixed method design as well as how to tackle quantitative and qualitative approaches; ethical issues have been added to a new section in Chapter 3; writing tips and considerations have been expanded and moved to the first part of the book to ensure research plans and proposals start in the right direction; and, the latest developments in qualitative inquiry (advocacy, participatory and emancipatory approaches) have been added to Chapter 10. Writing exercises conclude each chapter so that readers can practice the principles learned in the chapter, and, if all the exercises are completed have a written plan for their study. In addition, numbered points provide a handy checklist for each step in a process and annotated passages help the reader's comprehension of key research ideas.
Action Research by
In the Fourth Edition of Action Research, author Ernest T. Stringer provides clear guidelines to enable novice practitioner researchers to move comfortably through a process of inquiry that provides effective solutions to problems in the work and lives of those participating in the research. The Fourth Edition provides a simple but highly effective model for approaching action research; Look: building a picture and gathering information, Think: interpreting and explaining, and Act: resolving issues and problems. "Biographical Bulletins" punctuate the text to clarify meaning and to increase understanding of relevant facets of research processes. This best-selling text is appropriate for educational, business, health, and social work settings. New to this Edition: A new chapter on using social media to enhance action research processes An extended description of online sites related to action research Major additions that strengthen the theoretical foundations of action research An extended discussion of the literature on action research
Doing Your Research Project by
An invaluable tool for anyone carrying out a research project We all learn to do research by actually doing it, but a great deal of time and effort can be wastedand goodwill dissipated by inadequate preparation.This book provides beginner researchers with the tools to do the job, to help them avoids ome of the pitfalls and time-wasting false trails, and to establish good research habits. It takes researchers from the stage of choosing a topic through to the production of a well-planned,methodologically sound, and well-written final report or thesis on time. It is written in plainEnglish and makes no assumptions about previous knowledge. This new edition of Doing Your Research Project includes: Coverage of latest techniques such as grounded theory A new chapter on ethics Increased examples from health studies New referencing, library searching, and literature review chapters Completely updated references throughout This book serves as a guide to good practice for beginner researchers in any discipline embarking on undergraduate or postgraduate study, and for professionals in such fields as social science, education, and health.
Introduction Research Methods by
This practical, down-to-earth guide is for researchers, students, community groups, charities or employees - in fact anyone who needs to put together research projects quickly and effectively. It contains everything from developing your idea into a proposal, through to analysing data and reporting results. Whether you have to undertake a project as part of your coursework, or as part of your employment, or simply because you are fascinated by something you have observed and want to find out more, this book offers you advice on how to turn your ideas into a workable project. Specifically it will show you how to: - choose your research methods - choose your participants - prepare a research proposal - construct questionnaires - conduct interviews and focus groups - analyse your data - report your findings - be an ethical researcher. Contents: Preface; 1. How to Define Your Project; 2. How to Decide Upon a Methodology; 3. How to Choose Your Research Methods; 4. How to Conduct Background Research; 5. How to Choose Your Participants; 6. How to Prepare a Research Proposal; 7. How to Conduct Interviews; 8. How to Conduct Focus Groups; 9. How to Construct Questionnaires; 10. How to Carry Out Participant Observation; 11. How to Analyse Your Data; 12. How to Report Your Findings; 13. How to be an Ethical Researcher; Useful addresses; Index.
The Reflective Educator's Guide to Classroom Research by
The best-selling Reflective Educator's Guide to Classroom Research offers a clear, step-by-step description of the classroom research process. Using actual teacher voices and real-life examples, as well as advocating collaborative teacher inquiry, it is popular both for it's authenticity and inviting style. This new edition now also addresses: the link between action research and related designs for professional learning such as lesson study and teacher rounds the link between action research and teacher evaluation using practitioner inquiry for Common Core implementation ethical issues in classroom research.
Enhancing Practice Through Classroom Research by
Enhancing Practice through Classroom Research is an accessible introduction to understanding and improving teaching and learning through a process of reflection, research and action. Written by teachers for teachers, it offers a straightforward guide to classroom research and considers issues central to effective professional development. Including questions for reflection and illustrated with case studies and vignettes of the authors' own experiences of undertaking classroom research, it offers a step-by-step guide to beginning your own research: identifying an area of professional concern or interest articulating your own educational values developing a better understanding of your practice thinking critically about educational practices depicting practice as it is and as it evolves finding a research methodology providing evidence of improved practice developing theory from practice. Acknowledging the busy nature of classroom teaching and focussing on personalising professional development, this friendly, sensible text offers support and guidance for all student and practising teachers interested in research either for your own professional development or to pursue postgraduate studies in your area of interest.
Creating Equitable Classrooms Through Action Research by
Creating Equitable Classrooms Through Action Research looks at the issue of educational equity and illustrates how action research can be used schoolwide or districtwide to address this challenge. The editors have been involved in a highly successful and much studied action research that is used districtwide with a focus on the particular demographics and challenges of their district. The results of the action research study have created a deep knowledge base and capacity. The text provides an overview of the key conceptual and structural features for implementing a schoolwide or districtwide action research program and includes ten studies on narrowing the achievement gap between racial and ethnic groups. The findings of the action research study are connected to the broader body of knowledge on equity in schools. The action research studies illustrate varied approaches to help educators planning an action research project or currently working on an action research project. Real stories and studies from classroom teachers serve as examples of authentic professional development and as springboards for discussion and reflection on the process of inquiry and the issues of equity. The book includes: - 10 action research studies that focus on equity, race, and the achievement gap - how to implement a school-wide or district wide action research program that will promote equity and help close the achievement gap This is an ideal resource for school district leaders, teachers, and preservice teachers, and is also suited for professional development schools.
Real World Research by
Real world research is a common responsibility of professionals and practitioners in a wide range of both public and private settings. These include teachers, social workers and health service professionals, managers and specialists in business, architects, designers, criminologists and accountants among many others. Real World Research provides a clear route-map of the various steps needed to carry out a piece of applied research to a high professional standard. It is accessible to those without a social science background while providing rigorous and fully up-to-date coverage of contemporary issues and debates. It brings together materials and approaches from different social science disciplines, seeing value in both quantitative and qualitative approaches, as well as their combination in mixed-method designs. Updated throughout, the third edition includes: A brand new chapter on multi-strategy designs Increased coverage of ethical issues A chapter on writing a project proposal Discussion of internet-based research - both as a research tool and as a subject for research Coverage of evidence-based approaches - seeking to present a balanced assessment of their value Colin Robson's bestselling textbook is essential reading for many higher education courses, at both undergraduate, taught postgraduate and doctoral level, as well as practitioners and others carrying out a research project as part of their job. A very extensive website, which is closely keyed in to the text, provides additional resources including copious examples of research and further discussion of research issues, links to other useful resources and selected journal articles, annotated lists of further reading and an extensive set of PowerPoint slides.
Developing Effective Research Proposals by
Successful research requires effective and thorough preparation. In this expanded and updated Second Edition of Developing Effective Research Proposals Keith Punch offers an indispensable guide to the issues involved in proposal development and in presenting a well-considered plan for the execution of research. Dealing with both qualitative and quantitative approaches to empirical research across the social sciences, the Second Edition comprehensively covers the topics and concerns relevant to the subject and is organized around three central themes: What is a research proposal, who reads proposals and why? How can we go about developing a proposal? and What might a finished proposal look like? New features of this edition include: -Expanded sections covering research strategy, research planning and academic writing -Examples of successful research proposals from across the social science disciplines -A more comprehensive discussion of ethics -A brand new glossary and chapter summaries The Second Edition will be welcomed by all those preparing or evaluating research proposals, and will be invaluable across all areas of social science, both basic and applied, and for students undertaking quantitative, qualitative and mixed-method studies.
The Essential Guide to Doing Your Research Project by
The Essential Guide to Doing Your Research Project gives students the knowledge and skills they need to get from 'clueless' to 'completed'. This highly readable text guides the reader through each stage of their research project, from getting started to writing up, with each chapter clearly explaining a step along the way. Based on the author's hugely popular The Essential Guide to Doing Research, this new book retains the warmth, wit and grounded nature of the first, while providing tools to help students through the ins and outs of their own projects, and addressing the key questions students need to tackle, such as: - What is this thing called research and why do it? - How can I assure that my research project has integrity? - How to I develop a researchable question? - How do I construct a winning proposal? - What exactly is expected in a literature review? - What options are there in qualitative, quantitative, mixed and more purposive methodological designs? - Is it best to work with a sample, key informants, or a case? - What data collection options are there and how do I choose? - How should I work with my quantitative data? - What should I do with my qualitative data? - How in the world will I capture this on paper? This is an inspiring book full of down-to-earth advice, illuminating figures and diagrams and engaging real life examples. With this book as your personal mentor, a successfully completed research project is well within reach. Zina O'Leary is an applied social scientist and senior lecturer at the University of Western Sydney. She is the author of Researching Real-World Problems and The Social Science Jargon Buster.
Researching Real-World Problems by
This is the perfect book for any student new to Research Methods. It is brilliantly written, witty, and always easy to understand. Taking as her starting point the need for students to conduct research for themselves in the `real world', Zina O'Leary guides those new to research through the whys and how-tos of the entire research process. Always student-focused, this book offers a hands on and practical guide to the research process from the initial process of coming up with a good question, via methods of gathering information, through to the writing process itself. Researching Real-World Problems: - Makes the entire research process a meaningful experience - Provides a jargon-busting hands-on guide to the entire research process - Is illustrated throughout with real-life examples - Speaks directly to the needs of the new researcher - Locates the researcher and research process at heart of a complex web of social structures - Provides via the Companion Website link above, PowerPoint slides that cover all 12 chapters of the book. They can be printed out as separate transparencies or used in PowerPoint based lectures. They would also be suitable for applications in e-learning/ web-based teaching. O'Leary draws her examples from the full range of the Social Sciences, and this is the perfect text for any student in Health, Education or Applied Social Science.