Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TASC Legal Studies: Home

Books in the Nettlefold Library

These are just a small sample of books available in the Nettlefold Library. Search the Library catalogue to find more.

Victorian and Tasmanian legislation

Tasmanian Legislation Online
Provides access to Acts of Parliament and Regulations.

Tasmanian Law Handbook
Designed to make the law accessible to Tasmanians, this is a comprehensive database providing information on state laws.

Legal Aid Commission of Tasmania
The Factsheet Index provides information regarding common legal issues.

Victorian Law Handbook
Provides access to Victorian legislation and case indexes. Search the Contents section or Fact Sheets to browse for a particular topic or use the search tool to conduct a keyword search.

 

Commonwealth legislation

Federal Register of Legislation (Australian Government)
Use this site to search for Commonwealth legislation. 

Books in the Nettlefold Library

Browsing the following sections in the Nettlefold Library will enable you to find books on the following topics:

General works - 340
Constitutional Law - 342
Criminal Law  - 345
Textbooks, Tasmanian and Australian Law  - 349
Australian Federalism, Government - 354

Also see the 'Issues in Society' series for introductory guides to all topical legal issues. 
 

Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLii)

Australasian Legal Information Institute
This site enables access to a number of databases providing primary and secondary legal documents.  Primary legal materials available include legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals. Secondary legal material accessible via this site include legal materials created by public bodies for public access such as law reform and royal commission reports and also a large collection of law journals. Use the Advanced Search option to restrict your search to a particular database.

Magazines, newspapers and journal articles

This database is particularly useful in providing access to LegalDate which provides articles on legal issues, changes in law and case studies.To search a particular publication, use the Advanced Search option and select Journal Name.

Hot Topics

Hot Topics is a periodical that provides commentary in plain English on a range on legal topics. Past issues can be accessed here. To browse current issues, login to LINC's (State Library of Tasmania) Informit database and search for Hot Topics. You will need to be a member of LINC to access this database.

Online videos

Browse the Legal Studies section.

Glossaries and abbreviations

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
Search here for the meaning of abbreviations found in legal documents.

An A-Z of Key Jargon (ComLaw, Australian Government)
A comprehensive glossary of legal terms.

Legal Dictionary
A free online legal dictionary.

Analysis and opinion

ABC Radio National - Law Report
Provides jargon-free stories regarding law reform, legal education, test cases, miscarriages of justice and legal culture. Search for an article using a keyword search or click on Past Programs to browse the A to Z topic list.

The Drum (ABC)
Provides analysis and opinions regarding current issues. Unfortunately, it's not possible to conduct a keyword search for an article provided by this site, but a function is available to search the whole of the ABC site.

The Conversation
An excellent source of analysis and opinion articles about current issues.

Academic integrity

Use this guide to access tools and information to assist you with referencing and academic integrity.

To reference legal documents, check the Government and Legal Materials section of the Online Referencing Generator.  For more information refer to the Australian Government Style Manual for referencing legal material.