These texts provide information on common and statue law.
Australian Courts of Law by
The Australian court system continues to be the subject of debate and disagreement. Since the appearance of the first edition, Australian Courts of Law has been the standard work on the Australian court system. Now fully revised and updated, it provides a succinct guide to, and analysis of Australian courts and tribunals, their jusrsidiction and their functioning. Australian Courts of Law provides authoritative and comprehensive coverage of all material pertaining to Australian sources. Controversial issues in recent years have included the need for better case management procedures by courts, the growing importance of alternative dispute resolution, and the relationship between courts and tribunals, as well as between specialist and generalist courts. The book traces the development of the Australian court system from their English and colonial origins and gives an up-to-date account of the modern system. Australian Courts of Law is essential reading for all law studentsand high school legal studies students, and is recommended for anyone seeking an introduction to the Australian courts and the Australian legal system, or interested in further information on their workings and problems.
Making & Breaking the Law
Provides an excellent discussion of the law making processes including statue and common law and also law reform.
Royal Commissions: how do they work? (The Conversation)
Provides a good discussion of the role of Royal Commissions.
Royal Commissions and Commissions of Inquiry (Parliament of Australia)
Access Royal Commissions and Commissions of Inquiry appointed by the Australian Government since 1902.
Law reform (Tasmanian Law Handbook)
A brief discussion of the role of the ALRC and TLRI in law reform.
Petitions (Australian Parliament)
Provides information about petitions and the process for lodging them.
Law Reform
This is chapter 15 from the book Justice and outcomes VCE legal studies Units 3&4, 15E and provides a detailed account of the various ways that law reform occurs, including the role of petitions, pressure groups and organisations. It also examines the strengths and weakness of the parliament in reforming laws. Click here for the referencing details.
Common and statute law
Tasmania Law Handbook
Provides a good discussion of common law, it's history, interpreting common law and how it compares to statute law (legislation).
Law Reform
'Public participation in law reform' (Legaldate)
An excellent article discusses the role of individuals and the Australian Law Reform Commission in law reform.
'Pressure groups: their role in developing the law' (Legaldate)
Provides an excellent discussion of the role of pressure groups in law reform.
Common and statute law
'Law making through the courts: how it occurs and is it an effective method of making laws?' (Legaldate)
Critically examines common law and the doctrine of precedent and whether common law is an effective way of making laws.
'The theory and practice of precedent' (Legaldate)
Provides a detailed discussion of the doctrine of precedent in law making.
Australian Law Reform Organisations
Australian Law Reform Commission (Australian Government)
A federal agency that reviews laws and makes recommendations to government. Access this site to search for projects they have been involved in.
Tasmanian Law Reform Organisations
Tasmania Law Reform Institute (UTAS)
Browse the law reform projects this organisation has been involved in.
Tasmanian Community Legal Centres
Provide free legal services to the public and advocates for law reform on a range of issues. Browse the Law Reform section in News & Updates to read about recent projects these centres have been involved in. The local Community Legal Centre is Hobart Community Legal Service.