Below is a sample of books available in the Nettlefold Library. Browse for additional print materials using the library catalogue.
Try using a combination of the following search terms when retrieving information from the internet or databases:
World War I, Conscription, ANZAC, Women, Propaganda, Australia, Home front
As you are interested in Australia's involvement in the war, use the Advanced Search option if using Google and set the region to Australia, thus narrowing your search to Australian sites.
ABC Education collection of articles and media about Gallipoli and World War I.
First World War 1914-18 (Australian War Memorial)
Provides a good overview of Australia's involvement in the war, the role women play and the effects in Australia.
The Enemy Within (ABC Radio National)
Download this podcast to find out about the public's reaction to conscription.
The Contested Beginning (ABC Radio National)
Download this podcast to discover why World War I started.
Australia in World War I (BBC)
Provides a good discussion of Australia's involvement.
World War One (BBC)
Provides access to a range of BBC resources covering various aspects of World War i such as the key events that led to war.
Australia and WWI (State Library of Victoria)
A comprehensive site that explores Australia's involvement in WWI both on the home front and abroad.
Living the War - World War I (State Library of Victoria)
Personal experiences of WW1 through diaries, audio, video and photographs with details of who, where and when
Anzac Portal (Australian Government)
Although primarily designed as a teaching resource, this site provides some good information about Australia's involvement in World War I
Galliopoli and the Anzacs (Australian Government)
Provides in-depth information about the landing and fighting at Gallipoli.
World War I and Australia (State Library of NSW)
Provides good information about World War I and links and information about significant primary resources.
