Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Modern History: Home

Provides access to general resources that support the Modern History curriculum for Years 9 and 10

Welcome

Welcome to the Modern History Guide for years 9 and 10. This page will give you access to a variety of general resources useful for your research across many topics. Click on the tabs to access more specific materials.

Print resources

This is a small selection of the books on modern history available in the Nettlefold Library. Check the library catalogue for other relevant books.

Digital Australian History Resources for teachers

Databases

While this database provides many resources that would go into more depth that you require, it does contain History Today; a good magazine that provides articles covering all aspects of history. Try narrowing your search so that only articles within this publication are retrieved.

Primary sources of information

World Digital Library
Provides an extensive database of primary documents from around the world including books, photographs, maps, newspapers and sound recordings.Browse according to place or time.

Eyewitness to History
Provides historical accounts from the point of view of people who experienced the event.

US National Archives Experience - Digital Vaults
Provides a large range of primary materials covering America's history.

Trove
Maintained by the National Library of Australia, Trove is a good repository of Australian images, historic newspapers, maps and music. The Help Centre provides tips for searching for content.

National Archives of Australia
Provides access to digitised photos and documents. If you need help to get started, the NAA offers a variety of resources and information to help with your research. Use PhotoSearch to locate images on a topic, using the tool provided to narrow your search to a particular historical period.

Hutchins guides

Visit this guide for good search tips to help you achieve the best results when using Google or another search engine.

Online resources

History Channel
Provides a large number of articles on a diverse range of topics. 

Moments in Time (ABC Splash)
An interactive timeline that shows significant moments in history.

Videos